Suggestions for a high-scan-rate dynamometer indicator/ conditioner?

SPL Tech

I am a college student looking to do some independent research in regards to dynamic loading of ropes and cables (i.e. drop a weight on a rope and record the force). I currently use the Mantracourt DSCUSB, but with a scan rate of only 500 samples per second I am finding it is too slow for some applications. I use a standard 5,000 lbs 4-wire 3mV/V load cell. The indicator would have to meet the following requirements:

- Minimum scan rate of 1500 Hz.
- Must work with 4-wire 3mV/V load cells
- Must be field portable and either USB powered from a laptop or powered from a battery.
- Must be able to log every reading (either internally or through a laptop).
- If it logs internally, it must be able to export the readings to a computer for graph analysis.

Any suggestions?

the system you would need is probably very expensive.
A PLC does not convert Load Cell info directly.
Siemens offer an option card - But you need a full PLC for that.
A the end of the day a dedicated Load Cell Indicator will be the only answer.
Google - usb strain gauge data logger
OMEGA seems to have a 20KHz type