Continuous Forward/Reverse Motion

mechenix

I'm a complete noob to this...

Basically I have to design a project that can be done in a 2 hour lab session, and I wanted to use it as a chance to introduce PLCs.

My idea is to implement and program a PLC that can run a motor forward, hit a limit switch, reverse, hit a limit switch and do this continuously, or until it is stopped by the user.

How can this be done, how do the limit switches fit into the basic motor seal-in circuit? What type/model of PLC would be cheap and easy to implement in a classroom setting? I basically need to figure out how to design this in detail, but I don't actually need to build it myself.

Student? Teaching assistant? Instructor?

It will also be helpful to us if you will tell us the make/model of the PLC. There are dozens of brands and every single one of them is different.

You will need two booleans. One boolean is your running/stopped status. The other is forward/reverse. The user controls the running/stopped status with push buttons or an on/off switch. The limit switches change the state of the forward/reverse boolean.

Yes, I'm a student (ME). It's a summer class so we don't have time to actually construct/test the device so I'm just trying to understand fully how this should be done.

As far as the PLC model goes, I have no idea. For this application, I suppose it doesn't need to be too robust, or have a ton of I/O. I just need to pick one that would be relatively cheap and simple to implement, as it is a theoretical application. I feel as though I may be in over my head, because I'm basically teaching myself all this in a 3 week span.

You're making this too hard.

Write a boolean statement for running, then convert it to a ladder statement.
running := (start_button or running) and not stop_button

start_button stop_button running
----] [-------+-----]\[----------( )---
|
running |
----] [-------+

direction := (limit_swithc_1 or direction) and not limit_switch_2