Next course in automation

simplelogix

Hello Enlightened Control Engineers!

I seek your valuable wisdom and experience.

I am an embedded software engineer and worked very briefly with AB SLC 5/04. Since then I was hooked with what it could do to control the outside world. And I am keen on entering the automation industry.

I am now doing a course in PLC Programming and it is getting to the end. What would you suggest that I take up next? I keep seeing job adverts in newspapers for engineers with PLC & HMI experience. Since HMI softwares are generally vendor specific, do I have to buy their product to learn it?

In any case, do let me know what you think would be the next most relevant subject that I should learn.

Thanks a lot
simplelogix

Well, you sure can try to buy something. There are plenty of afordable systems, or check eBay. It maybe an interesting
alternative is to get the real thing while working among
people who already know it while working for less money or
even volunteer for few weeks.
This way you don't get just knoweledge of one system but you
get the chance to learn what other products are used, work on
variety of different software tools, learn who are the
customers etc. (each customer could be employer...).

If you programed computers and did a course all you need is a job. try to find a mid size or a big company so you will be part of a team and not in charge of the all thing.

Oh, and more confidence :)

Simplelogix, this is not directed at you in particular but to new programmers in general. I can appreciate the experience you must have as an embedded controller programmer.

It is so disheartening to see someone learn to swing a hammer at nails and then have the nerve to claim to be a carpenter.

Learning how to "key-punch" code into a PLC does not make one a programmer.

There are too many hammer-swinging-programmers out there looking for a nail.

I believe there is are at least one two... RESET