PLC training

110cookie

Hi I am new to this forum and would like some advice on PLC training. I have been an electrical commissioning engineer for a number of years, I have dabbled with Step 7 a few years ago but I would like to progress towards a career as a software engineer.
what training would you recommend?
I have found a site (scantime.co.uk) that does online training does anyone have any experience with this company?
I will be great full for any advice people can offer.
Thanks, Dave.

Sorry, I read your post, but I have no experience with scantime.co.uk.

Many of us learned the hard way mostly by watching others and then writing programs. A good place to start is with PLC Simulator software that you can run on your home computer and work until you get it right. For me, that type of hands-on learning at my own time and speed is worth about paid 10 training courses. Only do the courses when you have learned enough on your own to know what they will be talking about and what you will be paying for.

Hi I am new to this forum and would like some advice on PLC training. I have been an electrical commissioning engineer for a number of years, I have dabbled with Step 7 a few years ago but I would like to progress towards a career as a software engineer.
I have found a site (scantime.co.uk) that does online training does anyone have any experience with this company?
Thanks, Dave.

If you are looking for training on Allen-Bradley PLCs specifically, then I can offer that.

But it sounds like you are not going to be sponsored, so a commercial training scenario may be too expensive for you.

Be aware that you cannot "learn PLCs", you will find differences in the way different manufacturers do things, to the extent that you will make mistakes when moving from one platform to another. "One man's meat, ..." etc.

Sorry, I read your post, but I have no experience with scantime.co.uk.