Subroutine

shahid_6673

I am having a program using RSlogix 500 developed by my friend. Now i am working on that during commissioning. It contains 8 subroutine program and a main program. There is no condition with JSR instruction used in main program for all subroutine. Please advise me that how it will work during scanning without condition with JSR. Is it necessary to give condition with every JSR instruction. I am new with allen bradley plc. Please help me.

Welcome to the site
Conditional subroutines are optional programming methods.

Many use subroutines for more logical partitioning of the program and better understanding. They may be executed without conditions on every scan.

Program scans Main Routine. Program encounters Unconditional JSR and Jumps to Subroutine and scans Subroutine after completion returns to Main Routine at the jump position and continues to scan Main. Program encounter next Unconditional JSR and jumps to Subroutine and repeats process until it reaches the bottom of the Main Routine.

Hi

If I have read your post correct you said that your friend had no jsr
Instruction in the main program.
Well if this is correct unless there is some other way that I don't know
( maybe sti) there is no way the rest of your logic is been scanned
why not post the code

Donnchadh

And I use them occasionally for trial logic where I can conditionally jump to either the old subroutine, or the new one containing my trial logic.

But to answer your question, I don't see how those subroutines will get scanned if you are not calling them. Put JSRs in your main routine to call them.

rootboy and Donnchadh,

I think you are reading it wrong...

shahid_6673 said:
...It contains 8 subroutine program and a main program...

...There is no condition with JSR instruction used in main program for all subroutine...

...how it will work during scanning without condition with JSR...

...necessary to give condition with every JSR instruction...

To me, this reads as...