WEG Contactors

I noticed AutomationDirect is selling these now. For small motors they're quite a steal (UP to 22 amps). Anybody use these before? What are your thoughts? Is this a "you get what you pay for" situation?

I don't think so.

I've been using ADC stuff for 11 years now and they haven't let me down. They have always crushed my local pricing and I usually sprinkle in a few spares if I'm concerned.

Love the username +1 for you :D

I haven't used the contactors, but my experience with ADC echoes Elake20's, and I've been using them since they opened the doors. It is right to be suspicious of very low pricing. Daddy always said "You get what you pay for, or less."

In ADC's case they don't do it by skimping on quality. They do it with a high volume and direct to customer market channel. Rockwell and Schneider and Siemens use distributors who have to make a profit. If you need support or assistance in selection the distributor's earn their money. If not, then there is no reason to go through them.

Last edited:
If they are as bad as WEG motors I think not! The capacitance in the windings varies wildly for the same motor size!

I've seen people comment several places that IEC-style contactors are much less robust than "equivalent" NEMA-style contactors. I believe that the WEG models are built to IEC standards. Not anything against AD, or WEG for that matter, but from what I've read you have to be more careful how you use IEC contactors. NEMA contactors can take much more abuse; IEC-styles demand more engineering in their application.

-rpoet

I use IEC contactors all the time (Schneider) and have no issues with them. Very low failure rate even after years. Very reliable when sized correctly - very unreliable when sized incorrectly!
We do not have huge NEMA contactors here - when a machine comes in with them we all have a look at the massive size for such a small motor.

Thanks for the replies.