I know I am not looping this right!?!

davatv223

Newbie here Trying to do ST in RSlogix5000. I am wondering what I am doing wrong

I want to loop through the array and see if the name exists. Any help is appreciated.

for i := 0 to maxNames - 1 do
if Name<> ListofNamesArray then
NameIsListed :=1;
else
NameIsListed :=0;;
end_if;
end_for;

I don't know anything on the syntax of structured text in Logix but you need increment your pointer by 1 after the end if statement.

else
end_if;
i := i+1
end_for;

you're right, I forgot to add that in. My original code does have that thought. :D

I don't know anything on the syntax of structured text in Logix but you need increment your pointer by 1 after the end if statement.

else
end_if;
i := i+1
end_for;

OK, so you have checked the basics?
Tag data types are correct? A valid value in "maxNames". Are you calling the routine correctly from the parent routine? Have you tried using true and false to replace the 1 and 0 values?
Again, I know nothing of ST. Someone will be along soon that can help better...

In the Rockwell manual they have this:

SIZE(Inventory,0,Inventory_Items);
For position:=0 to Inventory_Items - 1 do
If Barcode = Inventory[position].ID then
Quantity := Inventory[position].Qty;
Exit;
End_if;
End_for

Where Size is an UDT which I am not using , I think this maybe my issue. I am going to read up on UDT's

I found your manual. Using UDT's won't help. You don't need to manually increment the loop. It will do that for you. Sorry I can't help you anymore than I have tried.

no worries, I'll keep on chiggin along. Thanks though (y)(y)

I found your manual. Using UDT's won't help. You don't need to manually increment the loop. It will do that for you. Sorry I can't help you anymore than I have tried.