RSlogix 500 Test

nixtootec

Hello all.. I am kinda new to all this and just started working with RSlogix 500 for a Micrologix 1200 we are working with. I can't seem to find out what are the procedures to go through in order to just test the program I wrote out. How do you go into test mode so that it simulates the process but does not actually hit the outputs?

You will have to write your own code that will assist troubleshoting.
One simple way is to block parts of program so you can focus on
smaller and more managable piece of code.
To do so, put some contacts in front of JSRs for example.
Start programming by creating alarms. For sequencers, create step-by-step mode.
For testing outputs, write code that will allow you to turn each output individually
while machine is manual mode. This is helpfull
when identifying I/Os and for maintenance.
I guess this should give you some ideas...

Go to help and type in test. Take a look at "test continuous"
and "test single scan dialog". I have never tried to use this but it says you can.

Panic mode has given one of the best practical solutions for you - trim down the executing code as he suggests (using enable bits for JSR's) to make it easier to debug.

------------------------------

Something to look for though: On many Logix processors (I haven't used the 1200 so don't know for sure on that one) there are "TEST" operation modes - some where you step through one line of code (look for "Test Single Step" in the help files), and others where you step through one scan of code (look for "Continuous Scan Test" in the help files).