Need help again, please.

7romero1

Hello everyone,

Can anybody give me a tip on what kind of Allen Bradley PLC to have my boss at work buy, I have been writing simple plc programs for a few years now and I am learning more and more as I go on, compared to professional what I write is rudimentary.
But now at work we are going to refurbish all production machines as well as the ones at our other plants. I have always used what PLC processor is in the machine I never had to choose/buy one before, I don't know where to start, it will be for cold header machines, and there are only about 16 input devices and about 7 output devises and about 5 indicator lights.
I need the smallest PLC processor that I can use sort to speak, I don't know the difference in cost from a SLQ/5 to a SLQ/500.
This is going to be an ongoing project at work, one machine at a time being completely taken out of production and rebuilt.
If anyone can give me a suggestion I will gladly take it.

Thanks,

Rick M.
3 NOV 14

For new applications, don't pick the SLC line. That's an old platform. Look into the MicroLogix line for low I/O counts, Compact Logix for higher numbers of I/O. Get in touch with your local AB distributor and ask to have someone come to your facility and evaluate your needs.
If you want, post his recommendations here and people will be able to tell you whether or not he's trying to sell you more than you need.

For low I/O counts like that, I would go with the Micro800 line. The software is free, the size is small, the cost is low. But then again I don't know what other capabilities you are looking for and whether or not you need inter-connectivity to higher level systems. That's why you should do as Steve Bailey said, call your local AB distributor and start a dialog.

Rick,
Looking at your previous posts, your plant seems to mostlly use Allen Bradley PLCs, so you may want to try to stick with that brand.