Siemens One Button Brain Teaser

I'm brand new to PLCs and struggling with a fairly basic problem given to me to solve by a co-worker. I'd appreciate any ideas you folks may have about how to solve it.

Problem: use one button to both start and stop an output (light, motor, whatever). That's it.

I'm using a Siemens 300 simulator.

Thus far it has been suggested that I will need to use PTRIG, ADD, MOVE, and CMP == to accomplish this. I'm baffled.

Use a one shot instruction for the input. It is the --[P]-- instruction in LAD. Use the one shot then to determine the set and reset of the output. If one shot and output is off then set output. If one shot and output is on then reset output.

Regards,
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca

This logic is the old alternator, flip-flop, or toggle function. It can be done many ways. Here is one that works in just about any situation.

Alternator Method 1.jpg

Last edited:
Many thanks to each of you for your generous help. I'll keep hacking away and see if I can come up with a working solution.

Part of the challenge for me at this early stage is translating general terms into Siemens-specific Step 7 ladder logic code.

You could, in theory. If you XOR a value with 1 (true), it will toggle between true and false.

However, I don't think S7 has an XOR command in ladder that only works on one bit. You would have to XOR a whole word. It might make it a little complicated, and certainly wouldn't save you any memory.

Honestly, I would say once you find one good way to do it, keep looking for others. There are a lot of ways to solve this problem, and a few more that look like they might work at first glance, but don't actually work. It is a great programming problem to be creative at, and solving problems creatively will be a great asset later on.

As already pointed out to you, there are many, many ways to "toggle" the state of a bit with a single input bit.

Search these hallowed pages for "toggle", "flip-flop", etc.