plc course work

shakerbess

hi I was hoping I could get some help new to plc part of my course im doing the question im struggling with is as follows

Describe the term resolution and relationship between analogue inputs, outputs and word length

any help would be great thankyou

I am still kind of new to PLC programming my self but maybe I can answer your question in some detail and some other members could add some more to this. Resolution to my understanding is the precision in which a PLC can control a analog value such as a voltage from 0-10vdc utilizing memory registers. If you have a PLC with 32 k memory then you would have 1024 bits/1k * 32 = 32768 and this would be the memory value that that processor would be able to use as the highest resolution value. Their is some formulas for scaling of analog inputs and outputs that you can search on.

It's a specification of the input card itself and not the PLC memory.

Analogue inputs will have as part of their specification a numerical value for the extents of its range e.g. 4mA=0, 20mA=32768. So in that not very real world case the resolution would be 2048/mA. You should dig through some PLC manufacturer catalogues for real world examples, there can be a bit more to it e.g. engineering units/raw values etc. however fundamentally that's what is going on.

As amberman, resolution is just how many bits per unit number of bits can vary widely, units are what you are using amps voltage, you then take that ratio and compare it to the external load your sensor is measuring, temperature for example 1 mA = x degrees then you will have bits per degree

in above example 2048 counts per mA, 31.25 deg per mA = 65.536 counts per degree (realizing there are no fractional counts, you would either use 65 or 66, noting there will be an error regardless which number is used if you need precision you can write routines to compensate)