Array Problem RS 5K

oldnerd

Gentlemen,
I'm new to RSLogix 5k. This is my second project. I have ran into something I could use some advice on.
Sorry if this is a little long. My project is drilling holes in a pipe to make a manifold using cip motion. The way I was going to do this way stepping through an array one element at a time. Half way through the project my boss tells me that we have to drill the holes by the largest number of holes of the same size to the least number of holes by size. I tried a 2 d array but can not get it to sort the holes by size and row position.
Any advice would be appreciated.
(and yes I have read a ton of post and the AB pdf's)

So you have an array of holes, each denoting what size the hole is, but I don't think it's that simple. Surely you have the X, Y coordinates of each hole as well. I suspect that you will next need to sort by location so as not to require your positioning system to randomly drive around to the next hole - but that's another story. The point is that you must be using a UDT or already multi-dimensioned array or multiple arrays?

I guess I would create another array that is as long as you need for the number of different hole sizes you have. Then walk down through the array of holes and simply increment the count of each hole size as you encounter them in the hole array. At that point you can sort that array to get you to where you can start with the most used size.

Then, as you are processing each hole in the hole array, when you index to the next hole, if it doesn't match the current drill size you're using, pass it on by and go to the next hole.