Looking to take the next step.

JScot

Hello, I'm a beginner at PLCs looking to develop my skills. I graduated from a nearby State University in 2009 with a B.S. in Electro-Mechanical Engineering Technology, but due to the economy I was not able to find a job in my field. I've been working a warehouse job for the last 5 years, but was let go a few months ago when the company downsized.

I had one class in PLCs, so I know the basics, and have reviewed my old textbook (Introduction to Programmable Logic Controllers, 2nd Edition [Gary Dunning 2002] It's an old book, which covers the basics, but I'm looking to move on to the next step with something more current.

In my class we covered inputs, outputs latch, unlatch OSR, counters, timers, sequencers, math, boolean logic, comparison, and Fill Files. To be honest, I never got Fill Files. Still don't understand what they do or how to use them.

I'm planning on buying LogixPro 500 PLC Simulator from TheLearningPit, and working through the simulations, but I could use some more material about more advanced program design. What are some good books, or sources of online material for me to look at to get me to the next level?

You can download Allen Bradley's Logix 500 emulator for free. That will give you a virtual PLC to play with.

Beckhoff TwinCAT 3 offers a free trial license than can be installed multiple times. That will give a good 'modern' tool to play with.

You can download Allen Bradley's Logix 500 emulator for free. That will give you a virtual PLC to play with.

Beckhoff TwinCAT 3 offers a free trial license than can be installed multiple times. That will give a good 'modern' tool to play with.

I have the RSLogix 500 emulator downloaded, but haven't tried installing it yet.

I'll look into the other one.