RSLogix500 TON preset - setting from HMI

technolog

Lifetime Supporting Member
I'm new to Allen-Bradley PLCs & RSLogix 500 - cue stupid question - and I want to set a timer preset value from an HMI. I was surprised to see I could only put a constant numeric value into the Preset field of the TON instruction

I've googled and I'm MOVing the value to the .PRE value of the timer. I've set the Preset field to 32767 and perform the MOVe on the next rung. I'm guessing that it will work okay but it seems very inelegant. Won't the preset value be written to 32767 briefly on each scan before being written back to the required value?

Is there a better way to do it?

TON preset.jpg

When you set up the numeric entry object in the HMI, you should be able to select "T" and the data table (or memory) type, a number for the address of the timer and ".pre" for the FLAG.

If the HMI doesn't have that capability, reference an "N" address with the numeric entry object, then MOV that value into the timer preset in your ladder, like this:

SOR MOV N7:0 T4:0.PRE EOR

As rdrast said, you can write directly to T4:0/PRE and also T4:0/ACC if you wish, the same way you can write to N7:x.

Shawn

Thanks rdrast, that's not a bad solution. So my 32767 in the TON Preset field is good, correct, sensible, needed? As I see it, if I left it at the default of 0, then the timer would timeout every scan, or is that not how it works?

When you drop the TON/TOF instruction on the rung, during programming, you can put a value there and never change it again. You do not need to keep MOVing a value to /PRE in your logic.

Just point your HMI tag to T4:x.PRE.

I would not do that, its always a good idea to check the value for limits
to prevent faulting the processor and setting the value to some unwanted setting. So write to an integer, then check it for limits, then move it to the timer's preset.

The limit instruction works well for this. ("LIM" instruction)