You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 25th, 2018, 12:27 PM   #16
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 399
What are the errors that a managed switch would typically report?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2018, 01:32 PM   #17
Dirt
Member
Sweden

Dirt is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by keshik View Post
What are the errors that a managed switch would typically report?
There's lots depending on what brand/model.

The ones I've used would report stuff like: link down, ring fault, voltage and alarms, temperature and alarms, if fed with redundant power it would tell you if one feed is down. I also get statistics and configured speeds. And tons of other stuff we wouldn't typically use in my setting (heat & power industry).
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2018, 04:21 PM   #18
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 399
Thanks for the response. I think for this particular application I would have a hard time justifying those features for the dollar premium.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2018, 01:12 PM   #19
Toine
Member
Netherlands

Toine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NL
Posts: 186
I have installed managed switches in some places only for the "cable check" feature, where the switch can tell you if a link is up/down, if there are any cable defects (short, open) and if so at what approximate distance from the switch the defect is located. Remarkably accurate. I can check this remotely through a VPN connection into the factory, so can basically troubleshoot a faulty network cable on another continent.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2018, 02:32 PM   #20
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 399
That's a pretty handy feature. The Moxa managed looks like it has a Rockwell AOI so it may be fairly simple to obtain some similar information.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2018, 01:57 AM   #21
Toine
Member
Netherlands

Toine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NL
Posts: 186
It is indeed, other useful features are storm control and loop prevention. There are a few things to keep in mind when going from unmanaged to managed switches.

They come set up from the factory with the same IP address. An unmanaged switch is as simple as connect power, plug in cables and be done. But you never want the same IP address twice on the same network. So before installation (!), each managed switch needs to be set up with its' own unique IP address and the settings you need, especially if you have a network with more than one switch. Do not use DHCP for setting the switch IP addresses.

Label each switch with it's IP address. Document the network layout, IP addresses, configuration details and username/password for the configuration interface of each switch. When you log in remotely three years later and find a fault in the cable on port 9 of the 5th switch, where is this cable going to? Therefore you should also document which device connects to which port on the switch. Without that information the cable diagnostics feature is not nearly as useful.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Lion Ethernet Port Routing Rube LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 29th, 2014 02:44 PM
Siemens Ethernet Lean card vs. Ethernet Adaptor uptown47 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 May 21st, 2012 03:49 AM
moxa ethernet I/O or Cellular wireless I/O diat150 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 17th, 2011 07:26 AM
Moxa EIP 3270 to SLC Ethernet IP to serial Gateway SCUBA NooB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 30th, 2010 05:01 PM
Ethernet basics in detail surferb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 February 23rd, 2008 04:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


.