You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 29th, 2015, 12:29 PM   #1
Rob S.
Member
United States

Rob S. is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 632
Dog Replacing Freq Drive brand on ModBus

Good Afternoon ,

We are doing a small upgrade on a certain portion of a machine but I would like to keep the Modbus network. I would like to replace 2 Schneider ATV312H075N4 Drives with AC Tech Drives. We are communicating with Modbus . How difficult is it to replace a drive with a different brand on a Modbus network.
It cannot be has easy as making the Modbus address the same on the AC Tech drive as is on the Schneider ATV312H075N4, is it ? I'm sorry , I am just not too familiar with Modbus like I should.

Thanks in advance,
  Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2015, 12:57 PM   #2
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,550
No, it's not that easy, but it's not too difficult either if you have any communication string programming capabilities.

First obtain a "Modbus Register Map" for both drives. Then look at your PLC program for where it accesses the drive via a comm command, and look at the Modbus communication packet that each command is currently utilizing for the ATV drive. Each command will be in the form of a packet of data conforming to the Modbus standard format, and buried in that packet will be the register address within the device (not the NETWORK address) and the bit value(s) that gives the drive the command(s) it needs. Using the map, determine what that register and bit value corresponds to in the drive programming, then find the matching register and functions in the AC Tech drive. Replace the ATV register number and necessary bit values with the AC Tech register and bit values number in each command in your PLC code.

You may also need to double check the packet format to make sure they match. Modbus command packet formats are SUPPOSED to all look the same, but sometimes they are tweaked by manufacturers, and that only ends up being an issue when you try to do something like this.

If all of this looks Greek to you, consider farming this out to a pro.

Last edited by jraef; April 29th, 2015 at 01:00 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2015, 08:25 AM   #3
Rob S.
Member
United States

Rob S. is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 632
If I replace the Schneider ATV312H075N4 Drives was the Altivar 31 Drive , with Modbus , if I set it up with the same address and other parameters it should run the same , correct ?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2015, 08:33 AM   #4
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,243
You will actually have to read manuals and compare the the Modbus locations of information in the two drives. It is very unlikely that they will have precisely the same information in the same location.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2015, 09:01 AM   #5
nonuke
Member
Portugal

nonuke is offline
 
nonuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie_carlton View Post
You will actually have to read manuals and compare the the Modbus locations of information in the two drives. It is very unlikely that they will have precisely the same information in the same location.
If you don't want to read the manuals, you can ask Schneider Electric for help.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Abb Ac Drive rajendrad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 November 5th, 2006 10:18 AM
Heller milling machine controls and drive naveen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 22nd, 2006 08:40 AM
Drive freq. Alan Case LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 May 28th, 2003 12:59 PM
AB Drive Tools(V2.06) W/SC 300 Interface Vietnam Bob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 20th, 2002 09:19 PM
Off topic - personal rant!! PLucas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 September 9th, 2002 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


.