You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 11th, 2018, 09:49 AM   #1
kolyur
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

kolyur is offline
 
kolyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 1,409
AB license dongle w/ multiple licenses of RSLogix 500

We have a dozen or so Maintenance technicians who have their own laptops and need access to RSLogix 500 (Starter). Some of them use it very infrequently, so I'm looking at getting the 9509-USB-DONG2 dongle to allow some of them to share the same license. (Thanks to Geospark for his detailed posts about how this all works.) There may be times when multiple dongle users need to run the software simultaneously, so I'd like to have more than one dongle available--possibly up to four, each with its own license. My question is, would RSLogix run seamlessly with any of the four dongles inserted? I ask because I know that when you install RSLogix you have to enter the serial number, but now I would have multiple serial numbers to choose from and the software S/N wouldn't necessarily match that of the license on the inserted dongle. Is this doable?
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2018, 10:29 AM   #2
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,378
We don't use the dongles, but we have the licenses running on the FT Activation Server on the network.

When we install RS5000 for example, we use the serial number for one of the licenses and it seems to work just fine even if it checks out a different license/serial(assuming the same activation 'level').

I can't say for sure, but I don't see why it would work differently for the dongle.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2018, 10:33 AM   #3
Helliana
Member
United States

Helliana is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 606
The serial number you enter when you install the software means nothing. You can literally enter any 10 digit number and it will install. The serial number in the licensing server is what determines if its licensed or not.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2018, 10:20 PM   #4
Timbert
Member
United States

Timbert is offline
 
Timbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The middle of the Pacific Ocean
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyur View Post
There may be times when multiple dongle users need to run the software simultaneously, so I'd like to have more than one dongle available--possibly up to four, each with its own license. My question is, would RSLogix run seamlessly with any of the four dongles inserted? ... Is this doable?
Absolutely.

The key is when you set them up you need to copy all the *.LIC files to the proper activations folder on each computer (default is C:\Users\Public\Documents\Rockwell Automation\Activations).

I have the older dongle style which didn't have memory on it. The newer DONG2 has memory and I believe you can keep the license file there. Never tried it myself. See KB505357
__________________
An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made in a very narrow field. --Niels Bohr as quoted by Edward Teller
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2018, 11:33 AM   #5
kolyur
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

kolyur is offline
 
kolyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 1,409
Thanks to all, I have ordered the dongles. We'll see how it goes.
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software for MicroLogix1200 SirCharles1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 July 17th, 2013 02:36 AM
RSlinx Lite and RSLogix 500 Starter... FREE geniusintraining LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 February 24th, 2012 05:11 PM
Rslogix 500 license needed New Guy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 6th, 2010 07:28 PM
AB RSLogix 500 and 1768-hsc prog questions automation_rookie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 27th, 2010 10:56 AM
Instruction manuals for AB RSLogix 500 and Siemens S7 dbonniwell LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 14th, 2005 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


.