You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 19th, 2020, 03:21 AM   #1
Bob O
Member
United States

Bob O is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location:
Posts: 1,849
E300 Network Issue?????

I recently started at a new place that has a system that was installed in 2018 that has an L72, ~ 50+ E300, ~15 VFD and
~ 10 Stratix 5700.

The below thread mentioned something about the E300 dropping out and causing issues.
I didn't want to hijack that thread but would like to know more about that issue and what I may need to prepare/look for on that system.


http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=123423


Thanks,
Bob O.
__________________
There Is A Frost Advisory...GBR!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2020, 10:13 AM   #2
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,439
On the other thread the problem was the L16 processor he was using could only communicate to a limited number of nodes (Devices) on the network. Because of this limitation it drop nodes at random.
Example if the processor can communicate to a max of 12 nodes and you try to communicate to 16 node 4 of the nodes (device) will show a yellow warning flag meaning that device communication may not be reliable
if your processor dos not show any yellow warnings then you should be OK
  Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2020, 07:20 PM   #3
Bob O
Member
United States

Bob O is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location:
Posts: 1,849
Thanks. I must have misunderstood Van's comment...


"Did the E300 ever get its network issue fixed, I think 3ish years ago we'd have them drop and come back up almost immediately. This usually threw a communication fault and would shut down the systems (by design)."
__________________
There Is A Frost Advisory...GBR!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2020, 04:26 AM   #4
Sydneyguy
Member
Australia

Sydneyguy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 27
The work around for adding more nodes is implicit messaging eg using the MSG command. Just like you would be reading another compactlogix controller. We already know the exact tag hierarchy when we add an E300 to our Logix5000 program, so we can copy the tag from that, that we want to read and insert into the message read command. Realistically we dont need all those tags, usually average current and trip fault code etc..
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2020, 04:28 AM   #5
Sydneyguy
Member
Australia

Sydneyguy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 27
Talking to rockwell the first thing they asked me was what version of firmware I was running on the E300 module, for this exact reason, they had issues with randoms comms loss causing grief. (not that this was my issue) but was something they shed light on for modules that may only be two or three years old..
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2020, 02:46 PM   #6
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sydneyguy View Post
Talking to rockwell the first thing they asked me was what version of firmware I was running on the E300 module, for this exact reason, they had issues with randoms comms loss causing grief. (not that this was my issue) but was something they shed light on for modules that may only be two or three years old..
This is probably the right answer, I had my IT guy working with the company (I don't remember who exactly) and proving the device itself was dropping. I believe it was a problem at the firmware level but I left the company before a final solution was ever given.

From memory it didn't have a pattern to the chaos, cold/warm/morning/evening/running/not running it would just randomly drop. I remember the "network" being blamed for awhile and then the switch must be the problem. In the end with monitoring tools it was proven the E300 would just reset it's comms.

edit - note I think we had over 15 of them and it wasn't happening to all of them at the same time. It was sporadic and the annoying part to monitor/check the panel you had to gear up because I believe we had 480vac in the panel.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2020, 07:45 AM   #7
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob O
Thanks. I must have misunderstood Van's comment...

(VAN's comment...)
"Did the E300 ever get its network issue fixed, I think 3ish years ago we'd have them drop and come back up almost immediately. This usually threw a communication fault and would shut down the systems (by design)."
Quote:
Originally Posted by VAN
...the device itself was dropping. I believe it was a problem at the firmware level...
The following technote describes a firmware anomaly that was/is apparently present in E300 Electronic Overload Relays manufactured from November 2013 through May 2015...

719835 - Product Notice 2015-06-002 - E300 Electronic Overload Relay Loss of Communications (201506002)
Access Level: Everyone

...Firmware revision 4.050 or older are apparently affected by an unintended drop in communications or nuisance trips when the E300 is duty cycled faster than 2 seconds. The fix was/is to flash upgrade to firmware revision 4.083, or higher.

There is also mention of fitting surge suppression to AC contactor coils, for good measure. I assume this means the fast cycling could be creating surges which could be attributed to the drop/trip issues.

The below technote also mentions minimum firmware revisions to be running in order to avoid similar network issues. It also mentions the use of surge suppression for AC contactor coils...

714480 - E300 Overload Relay: Red Blinking/Solid MS LED
Access Level: Everyone

Just to be clear - the issue VAN mentions in both threads has nothing to do with the Node count on an L16ER CompactLogix controller.

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2020, 02:42 AM   #8
Bob O
Member
United States

Bob O is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location:
Posts: 1,849
Thanks Geospark!
__________________
There Is A Frost Advisory...GBR!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMWare Network issue Nebul0us LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 29 March 27th, 2017 09:45 PM
Ethernet radio network experiences Tark LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 19th, 2014 11:21 AM
DH+ Troubleshooting The Plc Kid LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 August 31st, 2013 03:26 AM
PLC Network communication problems jnewbill LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 9th, 2012 11:14 PM
Help with Network issue... JoseM LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 65 May 23rd, 2012 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


.