Wire tray sizing

Rube

Sorry guys-- a slight bit OT. I'm about to run control wiring and motor sets for a new 50 motor conveyor system, and building the motor control panel. I'm going to be using AB Powerflex 4 drives, 2HP, 480 volts to the motors and running 24 volt controls. I plan to use wire tray for the first time and I need to know just how much room I need to have between the 480V and 24V wiring in order to eliminate PWM interference in the 24V wiring. I have no experience with wire tray but my plan is to use 6x6.

ok

Rube I wouldn`t run the two together.
Just personal preference though. I know all the stuff we`ve ever run to drives. The tech support we talked to didn`t want
Any other wires in the pipes going to drives. By the way alot of the drives were
ALLEN BRADLEY 1336 PLUS

In CONDUIT, I always keep my wires separated, 24V in one pipe, 480V in another, but I'm going to use wire tray so I was curious how much distance I needed to keep.

OK

It`s been several years, but if I remember correctly if cable trays
were run parallel at least 2 ft. between low voltage control tray
and the 480 power tray. If the trays crossed at 90 degrees they could be within 6 inches. Things may have changed??

:site:

if you can use 24" tray, running power on one side and control on the other, you'll be okay. keep at least 12" of separation between the two.(in the middle).
danatech

Don't forget the NEC in the US!

The NEC governs the use of ladder tray and as others have said, do not run power and signal wiring of any kind close to each other. Separate wire trays or good controlled/controllable spacing is a must. Remember, whether you or I remember the fact, induction is a fact and will indeed take place if given the right conditions. As to it causing a problem, well you know what Murphy always says!

Originally posted by Rube:

I have no experience with wire tray but my plan is to use 6x6.