You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 14th, 2018, 02:27 PM   #16
SpecialK87
Member
United States

SpecialK87 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Missouri
Posts: 30
James

I Like your system. I think I will implement a lot of what you're saying. Program names with revision dates is a great idea. Also, I like having a master copy in a folder which has limited access. Fortunately for me, only my boss and I have access to these programs and he's busy running a company so hopefully I can keep Bubba from messing with my stuff lol.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2018, 05:43 PM   #17
shawn_75
Member
United States

shawn_75 is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecialK87 View Post
First of all, thank you for all of the great responses. I have many ideas to help me choose which route I'm going to go. My plan is to first document all the assets and create my spreadsheet. And also inventory my hardware and get anything I might need in case of disaster. As far as backing up goes, for now I will just make copies of the programs and put them on the hard drive.



Okay, so if I know my program has comments and I save a copy to the hard drive, it too will have comments?

Also, if I happen to move the offline file to a new folder(I want to organize my folders and sub-folder better) I just have to change the "Project Files Search Path". Is that correct?
Yes, if you're seeing the comments in RSL500, then the file you save will retain those comments. You can move them to wherever you want and just browse to the file location when you go online and it asks you if you want to create a new file or browse to its location.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 12:50 PM   #18
SpecialK87
Member
United States

SpecialK87 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Missouri
Posts: 30
I have another question regarding all of this...

The RSLogix software and consequently the programs and on a virtual machine. If I create copies and move them to a real machine that is connected to the hard drive that does not have the rslogix software, will all the information in the files transfer correctly? Meaning if I take those copies and open them on another machine(with the software) will my programs be there?

Thanks
Kyle
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 01:09 PM   #19
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecialK87 View Post
I have another question regarding all of this...

The RSLogix software and consequently the programs and on a virtual machine. If I create copies and move them to a real machine that is connected to the hard drive that does not have the rslogix software, will all the information in the files transfer correctly? Meaning if I take those copies and open them on another machine(with the software) will my programs be there?

Thanks
Kyle
Yes. The RSLogix500 file will have all the logic, data values and comments available.

I make backups manually and have a folder structure/format that I follow. We integrate for dozens of different customers, so I start with a customer name folder set, then within each of those I have a folder for each type of software involved, in each of those are folders for the current rendition of logic, a folder for development, and a folder for backups. If the customer has ten PLCs running RSLogix 500 code, there should only be ten files in the "RUNNING" folder. Few of our customers have access to software, so I don't have to worry much about folks outside our company making changes to logic, just setpoints.

We also have a google drive and so periodically I will copy all the stuff I know has been changed, to this "cloud" based drive as a second storage location. It appears as a local drive on my machine as long as I have internet access, but I never open and work on files directly from the google drive. RSLogix in particular has been known to corrupt the file if you lose internet while the file is open or shut down the PC before syncing is complete. So I only work with copies on my local drive.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 02:51 PM   #20
sparkie
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sparkie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: KS
Posts: 838
I also tend to export the comments from a program, and update as I make changes. More than once this has saved me some time when dealing with a changed program.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SIEMENS UPS B4208 problem Oleksandr_Husyev LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 7th, 2015 05:25 AM
Temporary Motor Hook Ups ndzied1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 6th, 2014 10:51 PM
Ups neutral Mike_RPI50 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 September 18th, 2012 01:02 AM
Write back to Allen-Bradley PLC Brian Johnson_12 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 23rd, 2012 07:18 AM
Inputs don't work on UPS power?? elevmike LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 June 18th, 2004 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


.