I/O Comm. problem btw PLC & HMI

WFox

Hello, I'm new to PLC programming and recently hit an I/O comm snag.

I'm using a DirectLogic 205 DL250 PLC with an InTouch 7.1 HMI. The I/O Server is Modbus. When the HMI is reading data from the PLC, everything is fine. I can also write data to V-memory (I use DirectSOFT to double check), so no problem there. But when I try to write data to the control relays, things get weird.

Here's what happens: I use a user input touch link in the HMI to turn on a CR tag, and the CR in the PLC does turn on like it's supposed to. I can see in DirectSOFT that the CR goes from OFF to ON and stays ON. But in the HMI, the CR tag goes from OFF to ON for a split second, then goes back to OFF. For some reason, after writing to the PLC, the HMI is not reading (or incorrectly reading) the status of that CR bit from the PLC.

When I disconnect the HMI from the PLC and repeat the process (to troubleshoot), the CR tag in the HMI stays ON, instead of going OFF like it did earlier. So is there a problem with the PLC? What can it be?

Any reply would be appreciated.

- Wing Fox

I don't think there is anything wrong in either the PLC or the Intouch application. I think that maybe Intouch is executing one last 'Read' command before executing the 'Write' to the CR address.

You can try reducing the update frequency for the tags. There might also be an option called 'Read after Write', or 'Confirm Write', or something similar that you can apply to the tags.

I don't think there is anything wrong in either the PLC or the Intouch application. I think that maybe Intouch is executing one last 'Read' command before executing the 'Write' to the CR address.

I doubt it's because of the last read command because my HMI is not doing any reading of CRs at all, not even the ones I don't write to. I can read timer bits, vmemory, x, y, just not CRs.

However, I can write to CRs. Anyone ever had this problem before?