You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 1st, 2022, 02:52 PM   #1
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 991
PanelView Plus 7 Perf - Not a valid device

Using FT View Studio v12, I am getting an error when trying to download to (and also upload from) a PanelView Plus 7 Perf 10" (firmware version 10). It tells me it is not a valid device. Yes the project settings are for a PV+ 7 Perf. I've only ever seen this when accidentally selecting the wrong PV type.
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2022, 06:53 PM   #2
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,135
Check the WhoIs in RSLinx.


If the driver isn't running, is looking at the wrong port, etc it will show devices previously connected to, but either Comm's Error or Unknown Device
__________________
ivanovaautomation.com


Some Jobs Are Best Started With A Sawzall And A Dumpster On Castors
  Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2022, 06:54 PM   #3
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,610
Usually I see this error when you drill too far down in the FT Linx windows (i.e. if you select the PVP, then expand down to select the various levels underneath the top-level display of the PVP), or when I try to download a file from a network drive.

What do you mean, it's not a very helpful error message? /s
  Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2022, 07:48 PM   #4
plvlce
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

plvlce is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 659
Check what ASF said, I've definitely seen that error when downloading from/uploading to a network drive (or something that Windows might interpret as a network drive).

dmroeder has also documented an issue where a problem with the RSLinx/FTLinx setup (of the .mer file and panel, not of your PC) can cause that error message; see this post.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2022, 04:46 PM   #5
johnd_125
Member
United States

johnd_125 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 109
I assume the PV is showing up in your who active in the Transfer Utility? Is your ethernet driver "browsing"? You can ping the PV?

Like ASF, I only remember seeing this when I accidentally selected the wrong device in the Transfer Utility to Upload or Download to. A PLC, or the wrong HMI with a very similar IP address, something like that.

When you add the PV+ to your RSLinx Enterprise, you usually have multiple revisions to choose from. Did you select V. 10? Or, did the driver find the PV on its own? I've still had it work when I didn't have the correct revision.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2022, 09:15 AM   #6
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnd_125 View Post
I assume the PV is showing up in your who active in the Transfer Utility? Is your ethernet driver "browsing"? You can ping the PV?

Like ASF, I only remember seeing this when I accidentally selected the wrong device in the Transfer Utility to Upload or Download to. A PLC, or the wrong HMI with a very similar IP address, something like that.

When you add the PV+ to your RSLinx Enterprise, you usually have multiple revisions to choose from. Did you select V. 10? Or, did the driver find the PV on its own? I've still had it work when I didn't have the correct revision.
Yes, it shows up and I can ping it. I didn't have to manually add it because being on the same subnet, the Ethernet/IP driver automatically sees it. Definitely not selecting the wrong device.
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2022, 09:26 AM   #7
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 991
I can't even update the firmware on the terminal because whether I select the direct IP connection or FT Linx, it says "cannot connect to remote terminal"
Hmm...
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2022, 09:42 AM   #8
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,135
Can you post a screenshot of RSLinx showing the driver and connection tree?
__________________
ivanovaautomation.com


Some Jobs Are Best Started With A Sawzall And A Dumpster On Castors
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2022, 09:44 AM   #9
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 991
Here's the issue. Found a KB article on it. Had to delete the FT Linx config in the PV itself, then immediately I was able to download/upload/update firmware. Updated to FW12 and it's fat, dumb, and happy.
Hopefully this helps someone else along the way.
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2022, 11:28 AM   #10
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 3,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by phuz View Post
Here's the issue. Found a KB article on it. Had to delete the FT Linx config in the PV itself, then immediately I was able to download/upload/update firmware. Updated to FW12 and it's fat, dumb, and happy.
Hopefully this helps someone else along the way.
After you do that, then download, are you able to download again?

From my experience, this issue actually resides in the FTL configuration in your PanelView application. So once you download and replace communications, the issue happens all over again. The root of the issue needs to be resolved in your FactoryTalk application by deleting the FTL/RSL Enterprise server.

Deleting the FTL config only gets you buy until you download and replace communication.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2022, 12:28 PM   #11
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmroeder View Post
After you do that, then download, are you able to download again?

From my experience, this issue actually resides in the FTL configuration in your PanelView application. So once you download and replace communications, the issue happens all over again. The root of the issue needs to be resolved in your FactoryTalk application by deleting the FTL/RSL Enterprise server.

Deleting the FTL config only gets you buy until you download and replace communication.
Yes. After the FW was updated, it was fine for all subsequent downloads.
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2022, 02:35 PM   #12
asteroide
Member
Spain

asteroide is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: der
Posts: 145
Arrow

Hello Friends

I have the same problem but with FT View Studio v10 in PanelView Plus 1000. "The source selected is not a valid device.

I have been working with several HMIīs, uploading/downloading without problem.

Suddenly this message appears, so I can download to HMI but I canīt upload the application.

If in the HMI I load a older application and run, I can upload again, but If I modify this application and download, I canīt upload again.

I canīt upgrade to FT View Studio, y need to work with version 10.


What can I do?

Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2022, 06:57 AM   #13
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by asteroide View Post
Hello Friends

I have the same problem but with FT View Studio v10 in PanelView Plus 1000. "The source selected is not a valid device.

I have been working with several HMIīs, uploading/downloading without problem.

Suddenly this message appears, so I can download to HMI but I canīt upload the application.

If in the HMI I load a older application and run, I can upload again, but If I modify this application and download, I canīt upload again.

I canīt upgrade to FT View Studio, y need to work with version 10.


What can I do?

Thanks in advance.
Update the firmware in the terminal.
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2022, 07:23 PM   #14
asteroide
Member
Spain

asteroide is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: der
Posts: 145
So, Can I update the terminal firmware to v12 and with FT View Studio v10 download applications with v10?

Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2022, 07:24 AM   #15
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by asteroide View Post
So, Can I update the terminal firmware to v12 and with FT View Studio v10 download applications with v10?

Thanks again.
Yep!
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panelview download problems russrmartin@hotmail.com LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 April 23rd, 2017 01:13 PM
Question AB Micrologix and PanelView Plus communications protocol hhhjr2 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 30th, 2015 09:13 PM
PROFIBUS device configuration using a PLC arbj LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 1st, 2014 11:53 AM
block transfers to panelview 550 bakerboy_99ca LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 15th, 2005 11:55 PM
Analogue Inputs - Sink, Source, Help! Yabadabadoo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 January 26th, 2005 01:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 AM.


.