You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 6th, 2018, 12:19 PM   #1
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,061
SLC5/05 Revision For EthernetIP

I asked this on the AdvancedHMI forum also, but hope someone here can answer this.

I am adding a panel to an existing line that has a SLC5/05 1747-L552 using Ethernet to a HMI. My new panel has another 5/05 -L552.

Both CPU's are Series A, FRN 1 OS500 Ser A FRN 1, that only uses the RSLinx ETH driver, not the EthIP. AHMI only has EthIP drivers.

I have checked Ebay and there are firmware updates from $150 up, but a variety of revision levels. A call to Rockwell only got the information that all 5/05's are Ethernet capable, but no info on when they started being EthIP. My call to my distributor only got the info that a firmware update won't update the Ethernet port and would require an add-on card. I do know the 5/05's can be EthIP as I have other running projects with AHMI, but searching those projects files I couldn't find a minimum revision in use.

Does anyone know what is the minimum revision of a 5/05 that is EthIP capable?
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 12:51 PM   #2
jkerekes
Member
United States

jkerekes is offline
 
jkerekes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,179
SLC5/05 is NOT Ethernet/IP capable, not matter what the firmware.
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 01:30 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,292
First, a clarification: SLC-5/05 controllers do not and will never support I/O connections over Ethernet.

But they do support "PCCC Encapsulation in CIP", which uses the modern EtherNet/IP connection layer to transport the classic PCCC command set, instead of using the old A-B "Client-Server Protocol".

An SLC-5/05 that has "dual stack" firmware can send and receive SLC-500 Typed Data Table Read and Write commands with a ControlLogix (or a MicroLogix 1100/1400), and communicate with HMI devices that implement only CIP.

That "dual stack" firmware was introduced in about the year 2000, with FRN 5.

SLC-5/05 controllers have always been firmware upgradeable using a flash tool, which is now ControlFlash. The part number was 1747-DU501.

It is possible that Aabeck's controllers are too old to accept flash firmware of any kind. Some of the very first production Hardware Series A, OS500, Firmware Rev 1 controllers were built with a nonvolatile RAM chip that was too small to accept modern firmware. This was literally for a few months in 1993, so it affects very few customers and is a hard detail to track down.

Aside: A-B went through a bizarre naming exercise where the OS got a "Series C" designation that was coincidental with the Series C hardware. Series C hardware got the 10/100 MB Ethernet port and a new Ethernet daughtercard, while Series C firmware can still run on Series A, B, or C hardware.

All SLC-5/05 controllers with Series A or B hardware other than those initial orphan units can be upgraded to Firmware OS501 Series C FRN 11.

SLC-5/05 controllers with Series C or later hardware can be upgraded to OS501 Series C FRN 13.

I do see OS501 Series C FRN13 available in the Product Compatibility and Download Center today, at no charge. Search for "1747-L552" as the product name.

But I don't see OS501 Series C FRN 11 for download. It's possible that it is bundled in with the other download, or that it's been pulled from the PCDC.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 02:17 PM   #4
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post

But I don't see OS501 Series C FRN 11 for download. It's possible that it is bundled in with the other download, or that it's been pulled from the PCDC.
Great info Ken... I can confirm that the FRN 11 is part of the 1747-DU501, not sure if is part of the download but worth a try for anyone looking to upgrade
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 02:57 PM   #5
jkerekes
Member
United States

jkerekes is offline
 
jkerekes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,179
I should have clarified my terse answer, that the SLC5/05 cant do Ethernet/IP control.
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 04:36 PM   #6
lfe
Member
France

lfe is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 306
So many protocols under Ethernet/IP name
http://www.icsdefender.ir/files/scad...0Messaging.pdf

and this document only talks about explicit messages, there are also the implicit.
__________________
Suppanel HMI
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 04:46 PM   #7
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,693
I'm yet to be convinced that Ken is not a Rockwell bot, created for the purpose of archiving the history of Allen-Bradley equipment. Has anyone run a turing test on him or actually seen him in the flesh?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 05:18 PM   #8
Helliana
Member
United States

Helliana is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 606
Sent you a private message.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 05:28 PM   #9
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,061
I am going to try the firmware download and see if it takes

If it makes a difference in the status file under processor it has:
Ethernet DaughterBoard Series 1
Ethernet DaughterBoard FRN 20
OS Memory Size 512
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 05:30 PM   #10
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,061
EDIT - the firmware download is only the firmware package, still need to get the ControlFLASH program
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 05:44 PM   #11
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 238
What about 1761-NET ENI adapter device to convert from RS232 to Ethernet?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 11:30 PM   #12
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,292
I downloaded the "OS-501C.zip" package that was offered when I searched for "1747-L552".

It included an executable installer for ControlFlash, which resulted in a ControlFlash install that had selections for both "1747-L551" and "1747-L551/C" (as well as the ones for L552 and L553).

This suggests to me that it includes the "1747-L551" firmware for Series A/B hardware controllers, and "1747-L551/C" firmware for Series C and later hardware.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 06:15 AM   #13
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,061
Ken,


I originally saw the name of the download an d presumed it was a CAB-like package for another program.


It does have all versions of 5/05 upgrades. As soon as I pointed it to one of the PLC's it said it would update it to FRN 11, not 13.

But, since I was doing this over TeamViewer to my office computer and wasn't there it would not update, saying the PLC wasn't ready. When I get there I have to move the Protect jumper to Program.


Thanks for all the help everyone.
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 07:12 AM   #14
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aabeck View Post
As soon as I pointed it to one of the PLC's it said it would update it to FRN 11, not 13..
You have a Series A so it can only be flashed to FRN 11, I think there was a hardware change and its not possible so to get to FRN 13 you will need a series C


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken
All SLC-5/05 controllers with Series A or B hardware other than those initial orphan units can be upgraded to Firmware OS501 Series C FRN 11.

SLC-5/05 controllers with Series C or later hardware can be upgraded to OS501 Series C FRN 13.
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 07:20 AM   #15
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,061
I now have a Series C FRN 11 5/05 - the new one.

I will have to get to the customers shop when the line is down and flash the other one.

Another thing that had me worried for a second - when I put the jumper to Program it still said the PLC wasn't ready - I had the key in REM position, had to change it to PROGRAM then it took OK.

Now I just have to download the program back to it & test the HMI
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1734-IB8S EDS file jgebhardt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 August 10th, 2017 11:30 AM
Allen Bradley 1747-SDN Firmware upgrade issues vset LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 June 12th, 2017 08:16 AM
Studio 5000 v21.xxx d_tech LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 October 14th, 2016 11:24 AM
Rslogix5000 Firmware revision Jay69 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 March 8th, 2016 10:07 AM
PRODUCT SERVICE ADVISORY1768-L43 CompactLogix olias LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 February 23rd, 2007 02:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


.