Eplan files

Pete_S

Hi All

I am new to Eplan and I inherited a project that was designed in Eplan and needs rework. I was informed that the Eplan project was on the laptop that I was given to commission the equipment. I however do not see any recognized Eplan file types on the laptop. I see a .edb file with the project in question's name, but this filetype is not recognized by Eplan. Any suggestions from Eplan users would be appreciated so I don't have to recreate the project from .pdf exports manually. Thanks!

Yeah, the best way is to restore a prior project which would be a .ZW1 file.

I opened my ePlan and .EDB isn't in the list of recognized file types.

If you are on LinkedIn, reach out to Ivan Vidovic, he may have a method to restore the EDB into your project, he is an ePlan tutor.

I don't know if this might work but it would not hurt trying.

EPLAN P8 projects are a combination of a folder and a file, both with the same name. The folder name ends with .edb and the file name ends with .elk. See the first attachment.

The .edb folder contains all the project data and the .elk file is just a text file; it can be opened and edited with Notepad. Look at the second attached screenshot, there are two lines: the name of the project folder and the project EPLAN version.

So try to create a text file like this and save it with .elk extension. I do not know which EPLAN version you are using so try entering 11.0 for the revision and see what transpires.

Fldr.jpg Fil.jpg

Just a heads up for anyone getting into e-plan. The forum is free access, and there are e-plan employees & consultants that answer questions on it. I have used it quite extensively and many good questions have been answered over there. Search function is great. Also, do not ignore the help file. The help file is actually excellently detailed.
https://www.eplan.community/en/index.php
https://www.eplan.help/help/platform/2.8/en-US/help/EPLAN_Help.htm