Advanced level programming examples

Bcurry135

Hi all

I am just new to this and relatively new to plc programming, I have been self teaching myself for just over a year now and have done numerous small projects in my work which is a food factory. Some of the projects included HMIs where operators can choose the speed they want their conveyors to run at and another was a tank with submersible pumps which is displayed on an hmi with on and off setpoints which are changeable. I have found doing these small projects to be quite simple and I would just like some feedback from someone who is vastly experienced in programming plcs as to what they would consider an ‘advanced’ or complicated program to accomplish, just so I can possibly practice and take my skills further.

My suggestion would be to look at every instruction provided by your brand of PLC, and come up with an application where each would be used; instructions are the vocabulary used to express the behavior of a program*.

TL;DR

Search for "lead lag" on this forum; those are always interesting. There is a current thread similar to that: four filters; two will be normally in the "running" state at any time; the others will normally be in "standby" state, which means it is available to transition to "running;" when a "running" filter transitions to "backwash" (presumably pressure drop reaches a limit, or after a timer expires), one of the "standby" filters will transition to "running" to maintain two in that state; a filter can also be in "bypass" state, which means it is no longer available for operation e.g. undergoing maintenance.

Similar to lead-lag is a PLC controlling a model train set.

Tracking parts, using FIFOs and bit-shift instructions are interesting.

PID controls are interesting, especially with cascade and ratio in the mix.

Motion control is a whole 'nuther kettle o' fish.