You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 6th, 2012, 07:28 AM   #1
hsroomi
Member
Pakistan

hsroomi is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: karachi
Posts: 54
AB SLC 5/04 with Panelview 550 communication issue

Hi everyone....

we are a production company and our machine is 10-12 years old. It was running from years, the cpu is SLC 5/04 (1747-L542) communicating with Panelview550.

Cpu goes into fault last night and stops the machine, we try to communicate with pc but RS linx didnt detect the CPU. At last we erase and then download the program backup with our laptop successfully but the Panelview diddnt communicate and displays the message
" No active nodes found on network "

The communication setting is same i.e. node, channel, baud rate etc..... cpu is working fine panel view was communicating fine before this incident and we are getting the same result as well as after swaping the processors. We didnt try to communicate PV with our laptop because we dont have software.

The node is 2 at pv and is communicating via DH485.

Any help would be highly appreciated....

Regards
  Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2012, 11:36 AM   #2
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,291
here is my best GUESS as to what happened ...

before the problem, your PanelView was communicating with the SLC through the SLC's Channel 0 port (the DB9 connector) ... the protocol (language) that was being used was DH-485 ...

something happened to fault/scramble the program in the SLC ...

when you downloaded the backup program to the SLC, the SLC's Channel 0 port was RECONFIGURED to be a DF-1 port instead of a DH-485 port ... (in simplest terms, the download operation CHANGED the setup of the port and now the port speaks a different language) ...

so ...

now your PanelView (still speaking DH-485) can no longer communicate with the SLC (which is now speaking the DF-1 language) ...

here's a test to see if what I've said so far makes sense ...

unplug ALL of the cables from the Channel 0 (DB9 connector) on the front of the SLC ... now watch the LED marked "RS232" on the front of the SLC processor ...

if the LED does NOT flash at all (it stays OFF), then the Channel 0 port is probably configured for DF-1 ...

if the LED flashes slowly ON and OFF, then the Channel 0 port is probably configured for DH-485 ...

if my GUESS is correct, the LED will not flash which means that you'll have to take steps to change the configuration of the port back to DH-485 in order for your PanelView to properly communicate ...

in most cases, you'll find this easiest to do by going online with the SLC through the DH+ port (either of the top TWO connectors on the front of the processor) ... from there you should be able to reach the Channel Configuration feature and set the configuration for Channel 0 to DH-485 ...

but ...

if you cannot go through either of the DH+ ports, you can probably go online through the Channel 0 port by using the DF-1 driver in RSLinx ... from there you should be able to reach the Channel Configuration feature and set the configuration for Channel 0 to DH-485 ...

note that as soon as you do this, your computer (speaking DF-1 language) will lose communications with the SLC (which is NOW speaking the DH-485 language) ...

but if all is well, then your PanelView should start talking again ...

DISCLAIMER: all of this is GUESSWORK based on what you've posted so far ... if this doesn't get things working, I suggest that you post a copy of the backup program (RSS extension) that you've downloaded to the SLC so that we can examine the communication setup ... (you'll need to ZIP the file first forum rule) ...

also if you have a backup copy of the PanelView program (PBA or PVA extension) it would be a good idea to post that too ...

also if you have to post again, ALWAYS give the specific CATALOG number of the PanelView ... for example: 2711-B5K5 ... there are MANY different types of PanelView 550 models and there is no way for us to nail down the specific communications that you're using without knowing the specific catalog number ...

I hope this helps ... peace ...

.
Attached Images
File Type: png dh485_setup.PNG (23.6 KB, 65 views)
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2017, 11:03 PM   #3
Iaznav
Member
Philippines

Iaznav is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Antipolo City
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Beaufort View Post
here is my best GUESS as to what happened ...

before the problem, your PanelView was communicating with the SLC through the SLC's Channel 0 port (the DB9 connector) ... the protocol (language) that was being used was DH-485 ...

something happened to fault/scramble the program in the SLC ...

when you downloaded the backup program to the SLC, the SLC's Channel 0 port was RECONFIGURED to be a DF-1 port – instead of a DH-485 port ... (in simplest terms, the download operation CHANGED the setup of the port – and now the port speaks a different language) ...

so ...

now your PanelView (still speaking DH-485) can no longer communicate with the SLC (which is now speaking the DF-1 language) ...

here's a test to see if what I've said so far makes sense ...

unplug ALL of the cables from the Channel 0 (DB9 connector) on the front of the SLC ... now watch the LED marked "RS232" on the front of the SLC processor ...

if the LED does NOT flash at all (it stays OFF), then the Channel 0 port is probably configured for DF-1 ...

if the LED flashes slowly ON and OFF, then the Channel 0 port is probably configured for DH-485 ...

if my GUESS is correct, the LED will not flash – which means that you'll have to take steps to change the configuration of the port back to DH-485 in order for your PanelView to properly communicate ...

in most cases, you'll find this easiest to do by going online with the SLC through the DH+ port (either of the top TWO connectors on the front of the processor) ... from there you should be able to reach the Channel Configuration feature – and set the configuration for Channel 0 to DH-485 ...

but ...

if you cannot go through either of the DH+ ports, you can probably go online through the Channel 0 port – by using the DF-1 driver in RSLinx ... from there you should be able to reach the Channel Configuration feature – and set the configuration for Channel 0 to DH-485 ...

note that as soon as you do this, your computer (speaking DF-1 language) will lose communications with the SLC (which is NOW speaking the DH-485 language) ...

but – if all is well, then your PanelView should start talking again ...

DISCLAIMER: all of this is GUESSWORK based on what you've posted so far ... if this doesn't get things working, I suggest that you post a copy of the backup program (RSS extension) that you've downloaded to the SLC so that we can examine the communication setup ... (you'll need to ZIP the file first – forum rule) ...

also if you have a backup copy of the PanelView program (PBA or PVA extension) it would be a good idea to post that too ...

also if you have to post again, ALWAYS give the specific CATALOG number of the PanelView ... for example: 2711-B5K5 ... there are MANY different types of PanelView 550 models – and there is no way for us to nail down the specific communications that you're using without knowing the specific catalog number ...

I hope this helps ... peace ...

.

Hi, we have the same problem here in our company. except the green light/LED of RS232 flashes slowly.

Error Message: "612 No active nodes found on network".

Last edited by Iaznav; February 16th, 2017 at 11:05 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2017, 11:22 PM   #4
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 9,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iaznav View Post
Hi, we have the same problem here in our company. except the green light/LED of RS232 flashes slowly.

Error Message: "612 No active nodes found on network".
Welcome to the forum.

Tell us the processor you have. Post it's program if you can. (zip it first)

Please provide the complete catalog number of your PanelView.

Also tell us how the PLC is connected to the PV (cables and or hardware)
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2017, 02:04 AM   #5
Iaznav
Member
Philippines

Iaznav is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Antipolo City
Posts: 2
We use AB PLC SLC 5/04 and PANELVIEW 550 connected using RS232 Cable

We never change anything but today an error appeared, the error message is;
"612 no active nodes found on the network".

The LED of RS232 flashes slowly ON and OFF.

We also try to connect it with a laptop with RSLinx software but we can't established connection both PLC and PV.

Thanks,

Last edited by Iaznav; February 17th, 2017 at 02:09 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2017, 02:31 AM   #6
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 9,826
Quote:
We use AB PLC SLC 5/04 and PANELVIEW 550 connected using RS232 Cable


Please provide the complete catalog number of your PanelView.

What driver are you using in RSlinx? How are you connecting to the PV and PLC with your Laptop? ( Cables and or hardware)

Is the PLC running it's program?

Can you post the PLC's .RSS file (zip it first)
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spotty Communication between an AB SLC 5/05 & a Red Lion G315 HMI dougpke LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 2nd, 2012 10:23 AM
Communication Between Panelview 600 to SLC 500 PLC JaySow25 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 12th, 2010 07:43 PM
Plc5/540E To Slc 5/04 communication clarke2006 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 1st, 2009 07:57 AM
Communication cable: PC to SLC 5/04 SHYAMAL LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 November 3rd, 2007 05:50 PM
Panelview 550 Communication philzip LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 25th, 2007 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


.