3 pump Pressure control.

croc

Hi, I am new to PLC's and have been tasked with building an MCC panel for a pumphouse supplying water from a dam to a fruit packaging and storage facility which includes admin and engineering offices and also staff housing. The disturbances could therefore vary greatly in magnitude and frequency. Hopefully someone has worked on a similar process and has it all figured out. Thanks in advance for your responses.

Equipment:
Modicon M340
Schneider ATV 61 VSD's.(2 x 30kW, 1 x 15kW)
Schneider HMI
Interface between VSD's and PLC will be analogue cards on the PLC.
Pressure Transmitter: 4-20mA

The process is as follows:

3 pumps, Duty, Standby 1 and Standby 2.(Duty sequence is user selected via HMI)
1)Duty pump controls to setpoint.(This needs to be smooth from startup as rapid pressure changes may damage old pipework).
2)If Duty pump not coping Standby 1 starts.
3)If Duty and Standby 1 not coping, Standby 2 Starts.
4)Stop Standy 2 then Standby 1 when they are not required.

This seems straightforward at first glance but how do I control each pump with a PID loop without each creating a disturbance for the others to overcome? Would it be better to have the Duty Pump on a PID loop and the standby pumps stepping up by preset amounts. What happens when all three pumps are running but no longer required. Do we start stepping down if the pv to the Duty pump is less than a set value and stop stepping down when it is greater than another set value(i.e a deadband)? What happens if a large valve closes and the pressure spikes up. How do we drop the standby pumps out quickly but without overcompensating?

Your thoughts greatly appreciated.

I suggest that you add a flow meter.
Use the flow to determine which pumps should be running and pressure feedback to control the pump speeds.