You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 24th, 2020, 02:14 PM   #16
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,211
Is there any evidence that your recipe handling problems are related to your fieldbus at all ?

If not, then set that discussion aside.

Investigate and diagnose how the various Clients interact with the batching logic.

Quote:
The logic in the PLC essentially waits to see all the quantities to change from -32767 to something different and if all of them are different and a start bit is made, it copies the addition data onto a buffer and then another part of the program deals with the requests in the buffer and routes the addition through.
That trigger is the first thing I would experiment with. Maybe add a couple seconds delay after the "not 0xFFFF" condition before that data is copied into a buffer, to be sure that any queued writes from the recipe logic in the HMI have completed.

I have spent about 12 years fine-tuning a similarly VBA-driven recipe system, on a machine overseas. I have some experience in un-doing other people's bandages.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2020, 02:27 PM   #17
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea View Post
I'm open to suggestions too... particularly ones that don't involve hardwiring every valve and using Ethernet IO because it's cool.
https://www.balluff.com/local/us/pro...901?cal_iolink

Rockwell has its own version that is called armor IO or something like that, I never used it personally. Balluff is pretty solid for remote IO and not wanting to build a control panel (even though some sites still required it).

What you might be looking for with valves is a pneumatic solenoid block.

https://www.smcusa.com/products/Mani...-10-11S~158463

I've had good success with SMC products but I will warn you, they are sometime really bad at being setup. (It's just because I don't set them up enough and my current site doesn't use them.)

Really, whatever you can't find talk to a rep from either company and they might be able to point you in the right direction even if it's not their own product.

I believe Endress+Hauser has Ethernet flow monitor as well.

edit - I'm pretty sure every vfd/soft start out their has ethernet capability as well. Just make sure you run voltage rated ethernet cable and not just normal ethernet.

Last edited by VAN; March 25th, 2020 at 02:29 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2020, 03:12 AM   #18
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
Is there any evidence that your recipe handling problems are related to your fieldbus at all ?
Very much doubt it. It would be a fantastic coincidence for it to malfunction and successfully deliver product rather than just keeping valves open/closed. And do it repeatedly at that...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
That trigger is the first thing I would experiment with. Maybe add a couple seconds delay after the "not 0xFFFF" condition before that data is copied into a buffer, to be sure that any queued writes from the recipe logic in the HMI have completed.
Yes. At first I thought about that, but the PLC must see all values change from 0xFFFF before it does anything. Now, in Profibus and siemens kit, when reading contiguous bytes they had what they called a consistent read which enforced that all bytes from that read instruction would be available only when all had been read and not like two bytes of the new value and 2 bytes of the old one. I don't think this would happen in Rockwell, but obviously doesn't hurt sticking an half a second delay to try.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2020, 05:23 AM   #19
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by VAN View Post
https://www.balluff.com/local/us/pro...901?cal_iolink

Rockwell has its own version that is called armor IO or something like that, I never used it personally. Balluff is pretty solid for remote IO and not wanting to build a control panel (even though some sites still required it).

What you might be looking for with valves is a pneumatic solenoid block.

https://www.smcusa.com/products/Mani...-10-11S~158463

I've had good success with SMC products but I will warn you, they are sometime really bad at being setup. (It's just because I don't set them up enough and my current site doesn't use them.)

Really, whatever you can't find talk to a rep from either company and they might be able to point you in the right direction even if it's not their own product.

I believe Endress+Hauser has Ethernet flow monitor as well.

edit - I'm pretty sure every vfd/soft start out their has ethernet capability as well. Just make sure you run voltage rated ethernet cable and not just normal ethernet.
Thanks for this. I don't think any of these are ATEX rated, which is a problem for me. The SMC ethernet IP block on the other hand seems just about right for another panel I'm looking into.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2020, 09:47 AM   #20
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,958
Quote:
Originally posted by cardosocea:

Very much doubt it.
Ken was asking a question with an obvious answer. This thread came completely of the rails starting with post #3 and he was trying to gently nudge it back on course.

Quote:
Originally posted by cardosocea:

I don't think this would happen in Rockwell, but obviously doesn't hurt sticking an half a second delay to try.
I don't think this can happen with the SLC platform. I believe comms processing happens in the housekeeping portion of the scan. That should keep all the data together pretty well.

Keith

Last edited by kamenges; March 26th, 2020 at 09:53 AM. Reason: Original answer not appropriate to PLC platform
  Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2020, 09:46 PM   #21
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea View Post
Thanks for this. I don't think any of these are ATEX rated, which is a problem for me. The SMC ethernet IP block on the other hand seems just about right for another panel I'm looking into.
Dude, don't even get me started on rated stuff. FLIR has a bunch of badass IR cameras that aren't rated. I wanted to put one in a class 1 div 2 (from memory) and the only solution was to put it in an enclosure that was class 1 div 2. It wasn't even part of controls/plcs I just wanted to catch fires before they happened (real fires, not "fires"). If I recall right, FLIR was a solid NO we wont rate anything, and I lost interest in trying to get a setup rated (didn't have capitol, as getting it certified at the time was more than the operation cared about).

I think this is a niche field that could make millions but nobody has really taken it on. I'm not really sure why but if I decide to change careers maybe I'll start my own business and go that direction.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2020, 05:55 AM   #22
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by VAN View Post
I think this is a niche field that could make millions but nobody has really taken it on. I'm not really sure why but if I decide to change careers maybe I'll start my own business and go that direction.
They sell them in the UK...
https://www.flir.co.uk/products/a310-ex/

Det tronics also have one now

https://www.det-tronics.com/Products...illance-camera

Pretty expensive stuff, but it exists. This is Exd, so Class 1 div 2 is definitely covered by it, but I wonder if they certified it for use in the States or if it's ATEX only?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2020, 06:50 PM   #23
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea View Post
They sell them in the UK...
https://www.flir.co.uk/products/a310-ex/

Det tronics also have one now

https://www.det-tronics.com/Products...illance-camera

Pretty expensive stuff, but it exists. This is Exd, so Class 1 div 2 is definitely covered by it, but I wonder if they certified it for use in the States or if it's ATEX only?
Good to know, they didn't have anything when I was looking. Now I'm in a different field so maybe people hounded them enough they built one.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FactoryTalk View SE VBA Tags to Excel kota_rt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 25 June 3rd, 2019 05:33 AM
FactoryTalk View Studio HMI Addressing cdwilliams496 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 2nd, 2019 09:27 PM
Factorytalk View SE Local Station Sluggish/Slow Response to SLC 5/05 JKam55 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 19th, 2018 04:07 PM
FactoryTalk View Studio - View Site Edition (Local Station) Help RatherBeFishing LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 14th, 2017 03:01 PM
FactoryTalk View Studio- Numeral Input Enable Optional Expression Rob S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 October 7th, 2015 03:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


.