You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 7th, 2018, 04:33 PM   #1
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
1756-DNB with 1734-ADN

I'm playing around with some DeviceNet stuff on my test bench and just got a 1734-ADN. I forgot the ADN was AutoBaud, so that's a nice feature. I have a 6' cable between the two adapters with terminating resistors. When browsing in Linx, I can see the 1734-ADN as well as a single IO module that I have installed (1734-IA4). However, when I scan the network in RSNetworx, the adapter shows up (node 11), but no IO modules.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2018, 05:41 AM   #2
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daba View Post
Are you using a licensed version of RSNetworks, or Grace Mode/Demo.

It's been a long while since I had dealings with DeviceNet and RSNetworks, but I believe the unlicensed (unactivated) version will only allow up to 6 nodes. Whether this means nodes 0 to 5 or not I cannot remember.

There is also a setting in RSNetworks that limits the scan... that may be stopping your I/O module at node 11 being seen if it has been set below 11
No, it's fully licensed. It turns out that I needed to add the device bridging file to make it work for the ADN's own internal DeviceNet. I never remembered having to do this before and I looked back at the only project I've ever done with DeviceNet PointIO and we used the 1734-PDN (passthrough module). Taught myself something new.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2018, 05:59 AM   #3
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,385
Hi phuz,

I'm glad to hear that you got their yourself. I had actually read your post late last night and said I'd reply you some time today, if I had the time - to outline the bridging file you required for this setup.

Either way, and as you have not outlined exactly what you did, here is a link to some more info on the setup, should you or others wish to know more...

Adding Point I/O to an existing Devicenet Network?

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2018, 07:02 AM   #4
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geospark View Post
Hi phuz,

I'm glad to hear that you got their yourself. I had actually read your post late last night and said I'd reply you some time today, if I had the time - to outline the bridging file you required for this setup.

Either way, and as you have not outlined exactly what you did, here is a link to some more info on the setup, should you or others wish to know more...

Adding Point I/O to an existing Devicenet Network?

Regards,
George
Thanks for the link.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Configure 1734 ADN Ethernet adaptor module in DNet saultgeorge LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 10th, 2017 03:30 PM
1734 ADN point i/0 adaptor jcperdue LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 4th, 2013 04:02 PM
Rockwell 1756 DNB error code 83 davegr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 13th, 2011 06:52 AM
Comm Error 12 - 1756 DNB quasar273 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 19th, 2007 08:31 PM
1756 DNB Status Structure ben LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 10th, 2004 06:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


.