You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 29th, 2018, 07:24 AM   #1
Alen bradley
Member
Qatar

Alen bradley is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: qatar
Posts: 23
Edit Integer data table online?

I have a SLC500 Processor.

My question is that can I edit the data table of N-file (integer file) while the processor is online?

I am trying to setup the comms between the processor and the MVI46-MCM Modbus card and need to edit the integer files to read the data from slave device. Doing so online, but I can not get processor to read from the slave device. So I was wondering whether I have to set up the N-files offline and then download the program to PLC?

Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2018, 07:31 AM   #2
Kidblue
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

Kidblue is offline
 
Kidblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Worcester
Posts: 689
Hi,

When you say 'edit' do you mean modify the data table size? If so, then no you can't. If you create (say) a 100 N7 registers offline and download - you can then add any of those registers when carrying out online edits. If you tried to add (say) N7:101 in your code, when doing online edits - it will cause an error and not compile.

Hope this helps,

Rob
__________________
Rob Howdle

.........For the Boys in Royal Blue !!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2018, 07:51 AM   #3
Alen bradley
Member
Qatar

Alen bradley is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: qatar
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kidblue View Post
Hi,

When you say 'edit' do you mean modify the data table size? If so, then no you can't. If you create (say) a 100 N7 registers offline and download - you can then add any of those registers when carrying out online edits. If you tried to add (say) N7:101 in your code, when doing online edits - it will cause an error and not compile.

Hope this helps,

Rob
Thanks for the reply Rob.

I am not referring to the data table size but the actual data table values. For example, change the decimal value of lets say N7:100 to 10 from 0.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2018, 08:41 AM   #4
Kidblue
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

Kidblue is offline
 
Kidblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Worcester
Posts: 689
Hi,

Yes. Whilst online, highlight the register and just type your new value into the data table and press enter (as long as it's not being written to from somewhere else in the code or from a HMI say - it should change).

Regards,

Rob
__________________
Rob Howdle

.........For the Boys in Royal Blue !!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to Make Online Edit - RSLogix5000 b.bartel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 July 11th, 2017 07:08 AM
Loading .Pre in an array of timers? dginbuffalo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 March 11th, 2016 05:44 PM
PLC5 - Can't Perform Online Edit salesm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 February 18th, 2016 11:44 AM
How To Backfill data from InSQL into SQL Alarm/Event Table BillyB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 May 28th, 2009 11:31 AM
Migrating VB6 IDEA app to VB.Net Extrasoft LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 4th, 2007 06:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.


.