You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 7th, 2018, 12:13 AM   #1
Karinrinkashi
Member
United States

Karinrinkashi is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 14
Angry 1761 eni net pc comms

Hello everyone!

It is 1 AM here and i am still at work. Mostly because of our filler issues, but then those got extended to my 1761 ENI NET switch with a red fault light on and i tried resetting it but nothing happened. Then someone walked by and flipped the switch and power cycled it (just like i had been doing for hours) and the fault went away. So the victory was stolen form under my nose.

I decided to take a new 1761 ENI NET switch and configure it with the settings from the old one and see if that one faults out too sometime. I downloaded a Comm Port Something software and then i downloaded the ENI Utility. After 30 minutes of following the manual instructions and then following them AGAIN and AGAIN, BAM! i was able to connect to the switch. I put in the IP address from the old one 199199199140 and subnet 2552552550 and the flashing red fault light (no ip assigned) went away. Then me being an idiot and not accepting this small little victory, i decided to hook upto it again using the utility, this time i exported the info out of the 1761 eni just to make sure that ip address was correct ( i had already checked it from RSLinx, but stupid me). As i extracted the info, i saw the BOOTTP checked and then i noticed "always" and "Fallback" options available. I quickly went to the manual and read about them. I checked "Fallback" option and downloaded the settings to the ROM of ENI. AND BAM! Red flashing light started again, this time with comm port error, and the utility not being able to connect at all. My ethernet cable flashes greens as if communicating well, my utility says connecting and shows progress and bam! the ethernet on 1761 shows amber lights, and i lose connection. The red fault light goes from flashing red to solid to off to MOSTLY flashing red. There is no way to factory reset this damn thing, i think. So what can i do? How can i undo whatever i did? I should have just left it alone after putting in the IP address but i was so excited to configure it!
The utility keeps giving me error on Com port as in invalid comm port. But i used the same one! I deleted all drivers from Linx, deleted all ports from comm port redirector, uninstalled the comm port redirector software, and then followed the whole thing again. NO LUCK! The port rs232 lights keep blinking without any cable, RX light blinks as if possessed, the ethernet port light blinks amber when no ethernet present. Fault light goes away sometimes but mostly flashing.

WHAT IS GOING ON? PLEASE HELP!

Last edited by Karinrinkashi; March 7th, 2018 at 12:16 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2018, 03:57 PM   #2
shawn_75
Member
United States

shawn_75 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 322
Connect it to a network with a DHCP server that will assign it an IP address you can access from your PC.

From the command line:

Code:
telnet [ip address DHCP assigned it] 1500
Through this telent session, you can configure your ENI. I suspect you may be saving to RAM instead of ROM in the ENI utility. You'll still need to use the ENI utility if you do any configuration of message routing or email.

Also, in the ENI utility, you have to enter your subnet mask as 255.255.255.000. 255.255.255.0 will not work. All three digits must be filled in for the IP, subnet mask, and gateway.

Shawn

Last edited by shawn_75; March 7th, 2018 at 04:02 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2018, 10:50 PM   #3
Ih8Siemens
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ih8Siemens is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: NoDak
Posts: 46
Well if you have some rockwell products I believe if you search your computer you will find an application called BOOP-DHCP Tool. Its fairly self explanitory but get your mac address off of that switch and run that tool to see if it pops up in there. if it does then you're golden. If you need help shoot me a PM but the program is pretty easy to handle.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2018, 08:36 AM   #4
Karinrinkashi
Member
United States

Karinrinkashi is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 14
Thank you for all your replies.

I will try and then come back with my findings.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Net Eni IP address?? RickParrot LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 29th, 2016 04:51 PM
Setting IP Address on 1761 NET ENI Module via RA BOOTP Server Mike R LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 13th, 2012 07:19 AM
Siemens IL-70 PC Comms Zombo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 3rd, 2004 07:03 AM
Use of Net ENI with PLC5 wmhunter LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 24th, 2004 08:18 AM
Comms from PLC5,SLC,S5,S7,Omron to PC Stevie_S LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 1st, 2002 01:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


.