You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 11th, 2005, 02:37 AM   #1
Scooter
Member
United States

Scooter is offline
 
Scooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 143
RSLogix500 vs ICOM Software

We have a pallet strech wrapper that has a Allen Bradley SLC 500 fixed PLC 1747-L40A, It was programmed years ago with ICOM Software.
Everything is fine but I want to download the program and install a eeprom as it only has the battery back-up.
We have RSlogix500, RSLinx and the PIC converter.

I have been afraid to even attempt to communicate with this because the software may not be compatable.

Question is: Can I extract the program using the RSLogix500 or is there going to be a problem being it was programmed with the ICOM software.

I do have a print-out of the program and it looks like standard RSLogix500 format, I could manually convert it to RSLogix.

Thanks....
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2005, 03:57 AM   #2
PhilipW
Member
New Zealand

PhilipW is offline
 
PhilipW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wellington, New Zealand. Islands on the edge of the world.
Posts: 923
Go ahead. The SLC does not care at all whether ICOM or RSLogix500 is attached to it. It will be 100% compatible.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2005, 12:13 PM   #3
Scooter
Member
United States

Scooter is offline
 
Scooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 143
Great, Thank-You!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2005, 12:44 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,550
Let's make that 99.8% compatible.

There were some ladder constructs that the original ICOM software and the old A-B "APS" software would allow that RSLogix 500 considers illegal. Some very old controllers will get a "decompiler error" when trying to upload an old program with RSLogix 500.

There's no danger; the program stays in the controller and isn't damaged.

There's a fairly easy workaround; there is an AI-500 based upload utility that Technical Support can give you to upload the program. From there it will convert easily to RSLogix 500.

Go ahead and try to upload your program. Odds are extrememly good it will work without a hitch.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2005, 03:49 PM   #5
93lt1
Member
United States

93lt1 is offline
 
93lt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 993
Re: Let's make that 99.8% compatible.

Just out of curiousity...

What could you do in A.I. or APS that is considered illegal in RSLogix??
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2005, 02:09 AM   #6
Scooter
Member
United States

Scooter is offline
 
Scooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 143
Thanks Ken, I have A/B APS programming software loaded on an old desktop pc sitti'n in the corner of the shop, It still works.

The APS software is DOS and now I am wondering if ICOM is DOS also?
This unit I am working with was OEM programmed in 1995.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2005, 07:55 AM   #7
93lt1
Member
United States

93lt1 is offline
 
93lt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 993
Quote:
Originally posted by Scooter
I am wondering if ICOM is DOS also?
ICOM is another name for A.I. It also runs on DOS. Most people claim they like(ed) AI or ICOM better than A.P.S.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2005, 04:44 PM   #8
Fred Floggle
Member
Ajman

Fred Floggle is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 173
Strange what you get used to ............ A hundred years ago i used to program a lot of quite fast sequencial control machines using Omron c20hs processors , and the highlight of my life was getting SSS software , why ? not because of anything more than it didn't require the use of horrible canister files . i still reckon I can program faster with the old dos based tush than with the windows stuff i tried - not only that , i thought about , and understood what i was doing . you will remember no TOF , you made it , takes a couple of lines of logic ? many people think that's wrong , one rung is enough , let's see who can get it right . ps , if you do know , don't tell.
I have used the APS to AB import utility many times with few probs , upload it with aps to be sure , and try a convert .
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2005, 02:28 AM   #9
Scooter
Member
United States

Scooter is offline
 
Scooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 143
Ok, Now I have to ask: What came first? ICOM, A.I. or APS.

Were all these programs produced by Allen Bradley?
Or was there a second party involved.

I used the APS Software for one project 10 years ago
and never needed it afterwards.

I did not try to "upload" the program yet, The machine is in use.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2005, 02:44 AM   #10
Fred Floggle
Member
Ajman

Fred Floggle is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 173
There is quite a story regarding the software - I recall that there was a company called Greysoft who developed the original software (ladder90) for the siemens brick processors and prevented others from using their GUI (or something like that )
You should be OK going for a quick upload - though don't blame me if your factory gets filled up with peas and Captain Birdseye gets cross.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2005, 03:45 AM   #11
Doug_P
Member
United States

Doug_P is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally posted by Scooter
Ok, Now I have to ask: What came first? ICOM, A.I. or APS.

Were all these programs produced by Allen Bradley?
Or was there a second party involved.
I believe A-B's APS was first.

ICOM - a separate business entity - produced the A.I. (Advanced Interface) series software for A-B processors. There were also versions for PLC-2 and PLC-3.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2005, 08:03 AM   #12
93lt1
Member
United States

93lt1 is offline
 
93lt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 993
Quote:
Originally posted by Doug_P
ICOM - a separate business entity - produced the A.I. (Advanced Interface) series software for A-B processors. There were also versions for PLC-2 and PLC-3.
And PLC-5.

I still have a vintage ICOM catalog from 1994. Also available is WINtelligent VIEW, WINlogic 5, and WINtelligent Linx.

Rockwell bought ICOM and basically re-named the operation "Rockwell Software"
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSI developing software BobB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 May 21st, 2010 02:52 PM
rslinx and Excel with AI Icom software mulderm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 19th, 2005 12:36 PM
rslogix500 w/sp2 jimpad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 19th, 2004 07:48 PM
Need help on EV Move utility for activation key using ICOM version 6.19 for PLC2. John Salazar LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 April 15th, 2004 02:58 PM
Install ai series (icom) with Rslogix5 mulderm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 18th, 2003 10:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.


.