You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 14th, 2012, 12:00 PM   #1
SLC500
Member
Canada

SLC500 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sudbury
Posts: 27
WOnderware to Unity communication

Hey guys,

I am working on a project currently and I aam doing the PLC side of it and my partner is doing the HMI side. I have never used Wonderware before and we seem to be in a bit of a bind.

My last project used Factory Talk and I had it set up where I could send a word from a Premium PLC to a Prosoft Card in a Compact Rack which served up info to the Factory talk. ie.
Bit to Word instruction in PLC = HMI_DATA_1a... HMI TAGs created HMI_DATA_1a.7 HMI_DATA_1a.9 etc.

I could quite easily send words to the HMI and then from there break them appart down to the bit level and use them where needed.

Now I am hoping I am missing something really easy here but as it stands now with the new project we are using Quantum PLCs and I am storing information in a %MW900 for example on wonderware when we create a tag the address it looks for in the PLC is what Unity calls a 984 Address with the Value of 400900.

My question is how can we break that 400900 address down to the bit level? It seems to me a waste of %MWs if we need to create single bit tags and store them in the PLC in a memory word just so the HMI can see them individually.

I hope I have explained myself well enough.

Software is Unity 6.0 and Wonderware 10.0
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2012, 01:11 PM   #2
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 287
Hi there,

What is the catalog number of your processor? How exactly is Wonderware talking to the PLC at the moment?

We have 3 sites with Premium PLCs and use Intouch as the HMI. We Use Schneider's OPC Factory Server as the I/O server to talk to the PLC, then Intouch looks at OPC Factory Server (Via FActorySuite Gateway for the OPC to Suitelink conversion) for tags. Phyiscal link to the PLC is via Ethernet. We have remote I/O on the processors primary Ethernet port, and HMI comms on a secondary Ethernet comms module.

OPC Factory Server uses a .XVM Tag Database export from Unity Pro to determine what to query. You don't even have to worry about memory addresses, you just use the variable names as declared in Unity Pro - so it's very easy to set up BOOL / Discrete types.

How many tags do you have? OFS Small has a limit of 300 I think, but it's quite affordable. OFS Large, which we have to use, is bloody expensive. Nice when you only have 2 options there!

Post a little more info about what exactly your system will look like, size and comms method.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2012, 02:06 PM   #3
SLC500
Member
Canada

SLC500 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sudbury
Posts: 27
Thanks for the reply.

We will be using TSX 651 50 processors and more than likely DASMBTCP server for I/O.

I would like to use the OPC Factory and do away with the addressing but it looks like we will be sticking with the DA Server. Not a big deal just a bit more work in Excel.

I had heard about the OPC Factory when I started my last job and wish thye would have chosen it for this one but it is what it is.


Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2012, 03:53 PM   #4
DaveW
Member
United States

DaveW is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 330
You can access the bits similiar to what you did with Factory Talk. Once you got your integer tagname to read your plc address, use the .00, .01, etc. after the tagname.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2012, 04:28 PM   #5
robertkjonesjr
Member
United States

robertkjonesjr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NH
Posts: 380
Note that there are significant performance improvements if you use OFS from Schneider. They use a custom protocol which can read a lot more data, per message, than a typical ModbusTCP message (I measured something like 500 registers/message instead of the Modbus limit of 125 registers/message for a Function Code 3 read). If you have a lot of data and/or are hitting the PLC hard, this can be a real performance improvement. This protocol is also what is used to read what is termed unlocated data - data that is not assigned a %MW or %M (or whatever) address.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2012, 04:52 PM   #6
Dallin
Member
Canada

Dallin is offline
 
Dallin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 42
@DaveW

My partner tried using the .00 .01 added to the address but it did not seem to work.

Just for clarification the address of the HMI tag would be something like 401001

Would just adding 401001.04 be enough to grab just that bit from the 401001 tag referance?

If we are just accessing the word incorrectly then being able to use the .01 or .02 woul help greatly.

thanks
__________________
Bill M.
" Electrically compensating for Mechanical Deficiencies"
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2012, 06:26 PM   #7
DaveW
Member
United States

DaveW is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 330
Are you saying you want to create a discrete tagname in WW and use 401001.04 as the item address? I don't believe you can do it this way. If you create an integer tagname with address 401001 and then use tagname.04, then it should work.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2012, 06:35 PM   #8
Dallin
Member
Canada

Dallin is offline
 
Dallin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 42
right on thanks. I 'll get my partner to give that a try tomorrow.
__________________
Bill M.
" Electrically compensating for Mechanical Deficiencies"
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unity Pro Xl + CitectScada 6.1 simulation communication problem sadn3ss LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 8th, 2011 09:26 PM
Fatek PLC and Intouch Wonderware MOdbus TCP/IP Communication -KeNshIn- LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 14th, 2010 03:44 PM
Quantum Unity & Wonderware HELP timothywhitson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 25th, 2010 09:33 PM
communication betwenn SLC5/5 and wonderware on ethernet (TCP/IP) muralidharjk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 21st, 2009 04:21 PM
Wonderware to S7-400 communication Ajju LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 17th, 2009 04:48 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


.