Using a PLC to monitor current draw on multiple circuits

kroxic

I am very new to the PLC world so please keep that in mind.

We have several heat trace elements keeping a pipe from freezing over the winter. This system is setup using individual thermostats(20 total). We would like to monitor and track the current draw of each of these circuit lines so when one fails we can just look at the log and say, "Ok circuit 15 has not pulled current in over 48 hours we know this unit has failed" and then replace it. I have no idea where to start with this and I dont know what kind of unit I should be searching for as an input to the PLC.

Thanks for any information you provide. :)

Do you actually want to measure the current or just know whether or not current is flowing at all?

If you want to measure the current you will need some sort of signal conditioner that generates an analog signal to take into your PLC.

If you just want to know if there is current you could use something like this and wire it into a digital input in your PLC.

http://www.crmagnetics.com/newprod/ProductView.asp?ProdName=CR4395

The later would be much simpler/cheaper

A little more information would be helpful. First what is failing on the heat trace circuits? Is it the thermostat or the cable? If it is current you want to monitor then you need to use analog input cards. You will also need a current monitor with a 4-20Ma output for your analog input card. If the thermostats are failing you can use Steve Bailey’s suggestion which would tell you every time your thermostats pulled in. Then you could use a discrete input. Another option would be to install temperature switches at the ends of your heat trace cables set for 34F (or whatever temperature you want). If the cable or thermostats fail then you would get a temperature alarm when that section of pipe gets to 34F. There are several ways to accomplish this task. Tell us more.