You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 27th, 2013, 10:12 AM   #1
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 480
RSLinx and VMware.

Hi all,
I'm trying to make the Allen Bradley software (RSLogix 5000 and 500)work on my XP virtual VMware machine.
The problem I'm facing now is that RSLinx is not recognizing my CompactLogix 1769-L33ER processor.
I can ping the PLC and also access its webpage, but in the RSWho window the PLC IP address under the AB-ETH-1 driver has the yellow question mark, plus the red X, and it says "Unrecognized Device".
I already registered the corresponding EDS file.
Any ideas?

Also, the USB driver (AB_VBP-1) is shown as running under "Configure Drivers", but it does not show in the RSWho window. I know there can be problems with this USB driver in VMware, but I don't know if anybody has made it work. It would be strategic to have this driver working to be used for the first firmware download.

Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 10:40 AM   #2
robertmee
Member
United States

robertmee is offline
 
robertmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 983
Did you register the EDS file in the VMWare session? Can you right click on the ? device and Upload EDS?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 10:47 AM   #3
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertmee View Post
Did you register the EDS file in the VMWare session?
Yes, I did it. I used the EDS tool.
Quote:
Can you right click on the ? device and Upload EDS?
If I right click on the device, I don't get the option to upload the EDS. Remember I have the red "X". What's the difference between having the only the yellow "?" and having also the red "X"?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 10:49 AM   #4
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 885
X means it was there at one time but now it can't see it.

? means it sees it but doesn't recognize the device (missing EDS).
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 11:00 AM   #5
robertmee
Member
United States

robertmee is offline
 
robertmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 983
What is the IP address of the device and What is the IP of your PC in VMWare? Oftentimes, VMWare does some funny stuff with IP addresses, depending on your VM Network settings.

Run CMD in your VMWare session and type IPConfig. For your LAN port, is it what you expect it to be?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 11:33 AM   #6
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertmee View Post
What is the IP address of the device and What is the IP of your PC in VMWare? Oftentimes, VMWare does some funny stuff with IP addresses, depending on your VM Network settings.
Run CMD in your VMWare session and type IPConfig. For your LAN port, is it what you expect it to be?
I can ping the PLC from inside VMware.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 12:44 PM   #7
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcan View Post
I can ping the PLC from inside VMware.
Mmm...I just checked, and even when I can ping the PLC, the ipconfig shows that the virtual machine is in a different subnet than the PLC. Can this be the reason?

Under the virtual machine network settings, NAT is elected.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 12:55 PM   #8
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 480
Good news!
I change the network setting to Bridged (unchecked "Replicated...") and modified the virtual machine IP address so it is in the same subnet as the PLC, and RSLinx recognizes the PLC now!

Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 08:00 PM   #9
robertmee
Member
United States

robertmee is offline
 
robertmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcan View Post
Good news!
I change the network setting to Bridged (unchecked "Replicated...") and modified the virtual machine IP address so it is in the same subnet as the PLC, and RSLinx recognizes the PLC now!

Thank you!
Yep...That's what I was getting at...Glad you got it
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 08:05 PM   #10
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,087
Good news; thanks for posting the update !

I run VMWare Workstation virtual machines and use the Bridged network type. Even though my host machine is has a DHCP address assigned by our enterprise network, the VM can still have "192.168.1.20" and communicate with the controllers on that subnet in our shop.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2013, 10:04 PM   #11
brendan.buchan
Member
Australia

brendan.buchan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 203
I agree with Ken - should be using Bridged mode for all VM's - much easier to manage.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Computer set up PLC Pie Guy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 October 3rd, 2013 12:57 PM
vmware and rslinx Bstubby LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 18th, 2013 07:50 AM
VMWare (XPMode) & RSLinx 2.5 AB_ETHIP-1 24fretslater LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 26th, 2012 11:47 PM
RSLinx on VMWare surferb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 10th, 2012 11:13 PM
RSLinx 2.56 in VMWare Player with XP Host Ken Roach LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 October 23rd, 2010 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


.