24 hour cycle timer

PaddyParki

Hi there,

I have an SLC503 that I'd like to control an external contact with. Basically I'd like to assert my local contact on the 503 every 12 hours and have the program cycle. Is this possible?

6am - on for 15 mins then off
6pm - on for 15 mins the off
Repeat

I'd like to be able to change the times so I will need 24hr instead of just switching every 12hrs.

Thanks for the help.

You can use the Status file (S:40-42 HH:MM:SS) to set your logic... The PLC clock is not extremely accurate, and your time will vary after while. You will need to set the clock every now and then.

Thanks for the reply.

Can I set the timer without any input to the PLC? If I need to I can set an input always high but I'm quite new at this.

Can you send a quick example?

Thanks again

Thanks for the reply.

Can I set the timer without any input to the PLC? If I need to I can set an input always high but I'm quite new at this.

Thanks again
Just another way based on what Widelto said, almost the same, with a little more range to adjust values.
See Attached

Last edited:
Thanks for the reply.

Thanks again

I see you got some examples.

I'm not sure what you mean, "without any input" if you want the PLC to change, then you need to tell it to. You can change the time through an HMI, RS500, Or record the time, when an input turns on.

I am not very familiar with the AB family, but in Siemens there are a series of blocks you can use to sync with a time server.

I see you got some examples.

I'm not sure what you mean, "without any input" if you want the PLC to change, then you need to tell it to. You can change the time through an HMI, RS500, Or record the time, when an input turns on.

Thanks for the reply. I am new to this style of programming so forgive me if I get it wrong.