AB MAM Instruction Help!

junkyard

Hi guys, beginner here.

I need to be able to stop an incremental MAM instruction in Studio 5000 and then start it back.
But the catch is I need it to only go the remaining distance left to go, not restart the entire length of the move.

Ive tried to just use a MAS to stop, but on restart of the MAM, it executes the entire distance, not the remaining distance.

TIA

I don't think you understand what incremental means. It means the servo will go exactly that far from its position when you trigger the MAM. It sounds like you want an absolute MAM.

When you trigger an incremental MAM, the servo begins the move to go that distance. When you stop, that instance of the MAM is effectively killed and destroyed (it has no memory of what it was doing). When you trigger the MAM again, it is an all new instance. So if you only want to go a little further, you need to change the incremental distance of the MAM.

If it were absolute distance, you could stop it and restart it and it will go to that absolute position.

^ Correct. You can't pause an incremental move. If you need to do this, then monitor the position during the first move, and subtract that off the amount of the second incremental move. Or just use two MAM Absolute moves with the same target.

Well I thought I needed an incremental move type MAM because i do not want to go to an absolute position, the end position will change with each cycle. I just want to go a certain distance from the current position.
But will moving to that certain distance from the current position, I need to be able to interrupt the Move with a Stop PB, and restart from the position, only going the remaining distance.

I thought about using a MAJ for this even through it in the auto seq, and just monitoring the actual position and if it gets Stopped, I do the math to how much further it needs to jog after the stop. But that fells clunky and maybe not the right way.