AB PLC Selection - HELP

mrmss

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi,

I have five years experience with Siemens, but I have my first automation project as a contractor and its AB! I am trying to spec the hardware, I think the MicroLogix 1500 fits the bill as the application functionality is very straight-forward, but I'm not comfortable with 12k for a sequencer plus all the alarms and recovery which comes with it.

I/O count is:

• 45 DI
  • 12 DO
  • 18 AI
Two questions;
1) What does 12k buy you in logic terms? Can people give me some practical examples of what functionality you have build in the MLX 1500 with a 12k CPU.
2) What are my alternatives, project cost sky-rockets when going to CompactLogic (CMX?) as I am then in Logix5000 teritory and I strangely have alot of AI.

Look forward to hearing about your projects, Thanks in advance.

Hi,

From a personal point of view I would go for the Micrologix 1400 (if only for the built in ethernet port and 2 x serial ports). It has 20 DI and 12 DO built in and can support up to 7 expansion modules...

DI - 20 (built in) + 1 off 1762-IQ32T
DO - 12 (built in) as required
AI - 5 off 1762-IF4

This is just the way i would tackle this one (there are many alternatives!) - the software is the same (essentially) across most of the Micrologix range so the ML1400 will still use what you were planning to use with the ML1500...

It's the flexibility the ML1400 gives with programming via ethernet we tend to prefer, but as stated, others will have their own route they would take!

Hope this helps!

(where in the Midlands are you based?)

Regards,

Rob

Hi Rob,

Thanks for the reply - I'm in Leicestershire.

The option you suggested would use all the slots and leave no room for expansion and my customer is very indecisive so I would prefer to have a future proof solution.

How much memory does the 1400 have? Can you give an idea of the sort of projects you run on them and the features implemented.