AB PLC5/11 1771-OAD outputs not active

Ok, so I won't worry about the lack of I/O config data in my offline program. I do have entries in the output file for all of my discrete output cards. The Channel 1A setup appears to be correct (remote IO scanner). None of my output cards are currently working - neither the ones on the remote rack nor the ones on the same rack as the PLC. I'm going to order a new battery and have my customer re-download the program. I'll see what happens - the machine already doesn't work so it can't make things worse!

Thanks to all of you for your help. This is my first time here and this forum is great.

This may be a dumb question but, in the I/O configuration, is the little Inh box checked on the line that your chassis is listed on? This would indicate that the rack is inhibited. I'm not sure about this but I believe this would cause the active lights to be off.

It doesn't sound like you've been online witht he plc yet. That may tell you something too. Generally, I'm with everyone else. Replace the battery and reload the program and go from there. That will probably clear up alot.

Keith

... and don't forget the communications issues ...

... so the customer is going to do the download ...

next question ... will he use the processor's DH+ connection or the DF1 connection to do the download? ...

if it's DF1, be sure that he knows how to set up RSLinx ...

basic idea: when the processor completely loses its memory, then the DF1 port (Channel 0) usually goes back to its default value of 2400 baud ... if the customer's RSLinx was last configured for something a little more racy than that, then there's a good chance that he won't be able to complete the download ...

so ... based on my "best-guess-from-where-I'm-sitting" this is the way this is all going to play out ...

(1) in RSLinx ... do an Auto-configure for the DF1 driver to get RSLinx ready to communicate ... you'll probably find that the processor’s baud rate is now 2400 ...