Cheap USB to DeviceNet/ControlNet

tlf30

Lifetime Supporting Member
Does anyone know of a cheap USB to ControlNet or USB to DeviceNet adapter (I'm looking for both).
I thought PLC Cable would have one but I did not see anything.

Thanks,
Trevor

LOL, no. I want something for at home on me bench. If it was for work I would just have the company buy it, but I want something that is for home within my home budget.

I thought PLC Cable would have one but I did not see anything

Thanks for checking Trevor, there's not a big enough market for them to build an aftermarket version

I would try ebay but even there the prices are staying really high but you may find a deal

I am not an expert in ControlNet or DeviceNet, so maybe a dumb question.
Assuming this is for ControlLogix. Doesn't the current CPUs all have an ethernet port ? Why not use the CPU as a gateway to the ControlNet or DeviceNet networks ?

Just depends on the setup, if they are using a 1756-CNB or 1756-DNB and have either Devicenet or Controlnet at the network then they may have an older CPU that they would also need a ENBT or EN2T, they may also want to access others on the two Networks that dont have Ethernet, I would think that all new systems are going Ethernet

There are a lot of older systems out there running that need servicing

For these very old systems without Ethernet. Can you browse through the serial port to Devicenet or controlnet ?

I dont know but guessing.... I would say no, AB would much rather sell you a very over priced USB cable ;)

AB used to sell a serial to DeviceNet adapter, 1770-KFD. But they are still not cheap.
A lot cheaper than a 1784-U2DN, even once you throw in a usb adapter.

To quote Ken Roach back in 2014:
The answer to your actual question: "what's the cheapest way to get my PC connected to DeviceNet" is "a used 1770-KFD and a USB/RS232 converter".
As far as I know this has not changed.

Thanks, I'll take look at the 1770-KFD.