Citect to VIPA via PSDirect

woolie161

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi All,
Has anyone had success with a VIPA PLC talking to Citect using PSDirect Driver over Ethernet?
The current situation is Citect V7.1 on WinXp communicating to a VIPA CPU313C-2DP with a CP343-1 Ethernet module. Communications is achieved using a "VIPA OPC" server. Things are currently working, but if 1 extra tag is added to Citect, then after re-compiling and restarting the project, communication fails. i.e. #Coms on all values. The new citect tag is generated by copying an existing tag, renaming it and modifying the address. The new tag address already existed in the PLC. I have no experience with OPC servers, let alone VIPA OPC servers, but I have had success with Siemens S7-300 and PSDirect.

As the VIPA can be programmed using the Step 7 software (V5.5), I am wondering if the Citect PSDirect drive will also work with the VIPA PLC.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be helpful
Thanks
Woolie

From this link:

https://www.citect.schneider-electric.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-8614.html

PSDIRECT Driver Front end & backendVipa (http://www.vipa.de/)S7-300 series compatible
Hardware Requirements = Models with built in Ethernet
Software Requirements = No Siemens Software required !Serial (MPI)Siemens (http://www.ad.siemens.de/meta/html_76/produkte.htm)S7-300/400 series
Hardware Requirements = RS232<-->MPI Converter
Software Requirements = None
The converter should be ordered from your local Siemens office. Siemens Part No : 6ES7 972-OCA21-0XA0Vipa (http://www.vipa.de/)S7-300 series compatible
Hardware Requirements = Vipa Green Cable (supplied with PLC) no converter required
Software Requirements = No Siemens Software required !

Thanks for your reply Sigmadelta,
The VIPA configuration has a separate Ethernet module (CP343), there is no "built in" Ethernet as per line 2 of your quote. This will explain the issues I have been experiencing.

Again Thank you for your response.

Woolie

Hi Sigmadelta,