Communicate Ethernet/IP from PC through gateway

Mattyb199

Hello y'all!

So I am a poor software engineer that got assigned a project to try and simulate a plc to test barcode scanners.

Basically my application needs to be able to use most industrial protocols and the plan was to try and implement Ethernet/IP functionality into the application and use gateways (E/IP->x) to achieve Profinet, Profibus, etc.

The plan sounds great but i ran into trouble actually being able to use the gateway. Obviously most gateways are made to be used with a PLC application to handle messaging. My question is does anyone have experience trying to send messages through a gateway from a PC? I cant seem to find any examples of this being done before.

We are using a Softing Ethernet/IP to Profinet gateway to communicate with a Cognex barcode scanner. We are using python libraries (we are trying both pycomm and cpppo) to create the Ethernet/IP connection from the PC.

Any help or guidance would be appreciated!
Thanks

Last edited:
Rockwell uses at least 3 different protocols called Ethernet/IP:

1-Ethernet/IP Scanner/Adapter which is the one used by Control/CompactLogix to communicate at the field level with remote I/O.

2-Ethernet/IP Master/Slave for CLX at the Scada/HMI supervisiory level

3-Ethernet/IP at supervisiory level for SLC and Micrologix PLCs

I think that python library would probably correspond to protocol 2 or maybe 3, but instead to communicate with a barcode scanner you would need protocol 1.
There is also the problem that the specifications about Ethernet/IP are not free, it is only available to members of the ODVA association.

Rockwell uses at least 3 different protocols called Ethernet/IP:

1-Ethernet/IP Scanner/Adapter which is the one used by Control/CompactLogix to communicate at the field level with remote I/O.

2-Ethernet/IP Master/Slave for CLX at the Scada/HMI supervisiory level

3-Ethernet/IP at supervisiory level for SLC and Micrologix PLCs