control logix-Rsnetworks

sandy5020

Hi,

I am new to rockwell system jus learning the things as I have experience in other systems.

Now I am facing a problem with the .dnt file provided by client

when I open the file in rsnetworks all listed device showing a ? question mark

then I tried to install the eds files for the devices and showing successfully installed but when I save and open the same ? is there. how to resolve this issue and if download my program to controller any fault will come??
I dont want to disturb the system just logic modifications required

Thanks
sandeep

The *.DNT file generally includes the Scanlist for the DeviceNet Scanner module, and often also sets of parameters for the slave devices.

It is not loaded into the PLC controller and will not affect the program in the PLC. You can edit the PLC program all day and it will not change the Scanlist configuration or anything in the slave devices.

The question marks probably are still appearing because you did not in fact register the correct EDS files.

There have been some major changes to the way EDS files are managed in Studio 5000 v21, RSLinx Classic 3.50 and later, and RSNetworx v21. If you are using any of those software products, you must upgrade them all to get full functionality out of anything that uses EDS files, including RSLinx Classic and RSNetworx.

Hi ken,

Thanks for the quick reply.... I am interested to learn more

I have installed rsnetworks v11.0 and rslogix 5000 v20.0

and my devicenet devices are numatics g3 should I upgrade my rsnetworks ? or how do i get the exact eds file for the devices

Thanks
sandeep