ControlLogix Downloading Options

razoh

Hello,

I am a beginner working with Allen Bradley Plc´s and I have the following problem: I am not able to download any online modification without stopping the PLC. The PLC key is set to REM and each time I try to perform a download, the PLC stops.

Anybody knows how to perform and online download as I can do with Siemens.

And can anybody explain to me the difference download options of Allen Bradley PLC´s

Thank you very much for your help

As far as I remember, in program mode when I try to download I will stop the CPU anyway. And what I need to do is to download changes without stopping the CPU runtime.

whenever you download a program, you have to stop the PLC from processing the existing program. You can't download "online".

there seems to be some confusion with the terminology; online change is when you edit the program online which doesn't involve a download.

I'm not familiar with Siemens but with AB you can do online editing. that is, any change you make is instantly running, no download is required. If you edit the program offline and want that change to take effect, you have to stop the PLC in order to download that offline change.

Then what I need to do is to edit the program online. But in which position it is necessary to set the key: REM or PROG.

For example if I am online with the CPU and in REM PROG mode, does any modification I make in the program go instantly to running, or do I need to do anything else?

I will try to understand better the concept "online editing", I use to consider that a download as well.

Thanks for your answer

From what I remember, if you are using RSLogix 5000, leave the key in REM position and "go ONLINE".

I think if the program is different then the one you have open it will ask you to upload the program.

Once the updated program is on your screen, you can double click on the rung you need to edit. After doing that, right click on the edited rung and go to accept edits.