ControlLogix GSV Recommendations

Hello,
I'm working with a CLX L72 CPU. I am using several GSV instructions in my program for communication health monitoring within my DLR network. I have some experience with GSVs and I know they are processor intensive. My program has around 220 GSVs and I don't notice any slow-downs when working here in my lab. But my concern is will this change when I have real-world IO connected out in the field?

Is it necessary to stagger the execution of GSVs? Should I spread them out across multiple Periodic Tasks and set the times accordingly? Right now I have them all in one Periodic Task set to 10 seconds.

Does anyone have any first-hand experience or recommendations when using this many GSVs throughout a program?

Thanks in advance.

WOW! That's a lot of GSVs! I've only use at most a handful, like four. Why so many? What are you trying to do. It would be best to put them in a periodic task at a slow rate.

The reason for so many GSVs is that we're monitoring the health of each and every IO and ENET module. And 3 attributes are required: EntryStatus, FaultCode, and FaultInfo for each module. Therefore there are 3 GSVs per module. After a few 13 slot racks, it starts to add up! :)

Right now, they are all in a periodic task. But even at that, the GSVs will still be executed at roughly the same time no matter how long the period time is set to.

I thought about possibly having multiple routines and putting timers in front of the JSRs to stagger them (using prime numbers for timer presets so they won't trigger at the same interval).

Any other thoughts or recommendations would be great!

An L72 is blazing fast, but even so 220 GSV's is quite a load. I would not do that all at once, even if it's only every several seconds or so.