Current and Voltage Inputs on Input One Card

dladd29l

I'm very new to AB PLC's and very cautious when it comes to hooking new stuff up (hoping to avoid blowing up any I/O cards, haha).

Anyway, we are altering our testing lab where I am currently using an ControlLogix 5571 to control several valves and cycle through a series of pressure events.

Previously the only thing on our analog input card (1765-IF8) was a pressure transducer. From what I can tell, it's a single wire current setup. (All of the iRTN's are daisy-chain jumpered to the the RTN. The transducer has the DC ground tied to the same source as the RTN and the other wire tied to position IN-0). It's programed for 4-20ma

I am needing to add a linear transducer to one of our valves (it has already been purchased and was provided to me). After speaking to the manufacturer, it's a potentiometer. I provide it power in and sends varying power out on the signal wire based on position.

My 1756-IF8 card will accept 0-5v, 0-10v, and 4-20ma signals, however I am not clear if i can mix and match current signals and voltage signals on the same card and that's why I'm here.

If I can, will having the existing transducer and the new one on separate power supplies (24V and 5V) introduce problems?

Thanks!

Not that familiar with controlLogix but having mixed current and voltage outputs on the same card is not an issue for the micrologix range so i doubt it will be for control logix.

Generally if there's an analog common terminal on the card then all analog input "negatives" should be at a similar potential to this common. This will be the case if you tie the zero volts of your 24V and 5V supplies together.

The manual for the analog input card will have more details, habe you read it?

Yes, you can mix current and voltage inputs with this analog module...

ID: QA4854 | Access Levels: TechConnect
1756-IF8, 1756-IF16: mix of voltage and current inputs