Current limiting with VFD

DScott

Hello:

I have an powerflex 400 22C-D142A103 in a compressor . It was driving a motor with FLA of 127. and NP hz of 89 I would like to use a motor with a FLA 159 NP hz 108, on the same drive. If I set A179 Current limit to 127 will the drive be able to handle the motor? Will the motor performance be similar to the smaller motor

Scott

But I still have the question. If I set current limit to within the capacity of the drive, can I use the oversized motor?

I am not an engineer so cant speak on the performance characteristics of doing this.
And dont have the time right now to look up code articles, but I would bet somewhere it is written that the drive must be sized to at least the motor FLA/HP/KW. And the feeder to the Drive must be 1.25% the input current rating of the power conversion device.

NEC is written so that everything in the circuit is sized accordingly and there is usually not alot of wiggle room to get around this code.

This would make since, what if someone comes behind you and recomissions the drive parameters using the motor nameplate values but does not consider the drive and possibly the feeder is undersized?
Silly but could happen.

Another factor is what is the existing feeder size going to the VFD and from the VFD to the motor?
If this is not rated for at least 1.25% of the 125hp motor FLA you are wanting to connect then you have your answer right off.

(Is your feeder 3/0 or bigger?)

If the feeder does not meet this speck then your answer would be NO according to 430 of NEC without even considering the VFD size is only 100hp.

If you are asking would this work if you had not a care in the world as to what the electrical code says, then the answer might be Maybe.

What part of Florida are you from?
I live about 1 hour north of Tampa.

BCS

Last edited:
I would bet somewhere it is written that the drive must be sized to at least the motor FLA/HP/KW.