DH485 Panelview to RS232 PC

nickromano07

Hello all, this is my first time on and I am rather new to automatio as well. I would like to know exactly how to configure my cables, and which ones, from PanelView 550 (DH485 Proto) to my laptop RS232 serial port. I have 1747-pic. Does the RS232 9 pin end go to my laptop serial port, or does that end go to the panelview port? Now I also have 1747-AIC too and if that must be used in order to establish comm, well, I would like to know that config as well. I already have my 1747-PIC/AIC driver running in Lynx and a program ready to download to the 550, all I need is to connect and have comm to panelview!! Any and all help is more than welcome!!

I have a 2711-K5A5 FRN 1.07 SER C I do have a DH485 to RS232 converter, 1747-pic, only problem is that this one has the DH485 module jack end and I need the 9 pin connect. The converter seems to be removable and I have ordered another cable, RS232 9 pin so that I SHOULD have in the end, a 485 to 232 pic converter with a 9 pin connector on both ends. If I have this right, I should have no problem communicating with my panelview.....? right? I have already taken care of the pic driver in LYNX and it is running without a problem ( after I shut down the service and ran it as classic) If it sounds like I am doing something wrong let me know. As I said before, I will have all the cables and the pic adapter tomorrow afternoon and I will let you all know how it turned out. Once again, any and all info is so very welcome!!!

If you have the 1747-PIC/AIC+ driver working. Then that means you have a real serial port on your PC. All you need is a straight thru cable between your PC and your Panelview. You do not need the PIC or the AIC to connect your PC to your PV for downloading or uploading its program.
Make sure the baud rate is the same RsLinx and the PV. ( default is 19200)
Make sure the node addresses are different ( default for your Pv is 2, default for RSLinx is 0).