Differential Pressure Transducer Scaling

joe7514

I am updating controls on a leak tester, from a SLC 5/02 to Compact Logix. The SLC used a DDV instruction to help scale a differential pressure transducer. I will have to scale in Compact Logix myself. It's a 4 - 20ma transducer. At 4 ma, I need -.500 psi. At 12 ma, 0 psi. and 20 ma, .500 psi. Would someone here be kind enough to me how to do this using a CPT instruction? I'm just a Tech. with a small company, without engineering support. TIA

For CompactLogix, I typically use an Add-On Instruction (AOI) that I found either on this forum or the Rockwell website that functions the same as an SCL (scale) or SCP (scale with parameters) instruction. This lets you put in the Input Minimum and Input Maximum in raw data counts, in my case 4000 for 4mA and 20000 for 20mA, and then you can put in whatever number you want for your Scaled Minimum and Scaled Maximum.

The internal logic of the AOI is just 3 CPT instructions:

lrWjSkm.jpg

You will need to adjust this based on how your analog channels are configured. For example, mine are configured with an Input Range of "4mA to 20mA", with a Filter of 60Hz, and the Data Format is "Engineering Units". Setting it to Engineering Units will make it read 4000 and 20000, which makes it easier to scale in my opinion.

ControlLogix lets you set the scaling in the card configuration, i.e. 4mA = 20psi, 20ma = 300psi, but the CompactLogix doesn't have that unfortunately.

EDIT: If I were going to just use a CPT instruction, I suppose the Expression would be as follows (replace Local:1:I.Ch1Data with whatever address your analog input is using):

ScaledValue = (0.0000625*Local:1:I.Ch1Data) - 0.75

This uses the following values for the Slope and Offset:

Slope = [0.500 - (-0.500)]/[20000 - 4000] = 1/16000 = 0.0000625
Offset = -0.500 - (4000 * 0.0000625) = -0.75

For example, if your analog input is at 20000 (or 20mA), you get the following:

ScaledValue = (0.0000625*20000) - 0.75