Email/SMTP with Micro800

fatihkorum7

Hello PLC folks,

I have never done any email application on PLCs before. This will be my first time so I have some questions and I would appreciate it so much if you can help me.

On RA page, I've read it initiates an email to an internal mail server using well known SMTP TCP port #25. What does it mean? What kind of emails can I send according to this statement?

However I want to implement this application so do I need to connect my PLC to an internet network with a ethernet cable?

Also it is important to mention that in the thread below, on 15th July 2020, a member usernamed damica1 stated "The Function block does now support "Authentication" !
So - Yes, you can use GAMIL." - directly quoted by his/her reply

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=107775&highlight=smtp+micro800

If you can help in any way I would be grateful.
Thanks in advance.

it initiates an email to an internal mail server using well known SMTP TCP port #25. What does it mean? What kind of emails can I send according to this statement?

Summary

Port 25 is the "well-known port" used for SMTP (Simple Mail Transfer Protocol) by insecure email servers to receive emails that are to be delivered to [email protected] addresses.

You can send any kind of email, as the SMTP is an ASCII protocol; everything you need to know is more or less in RFCs 5322 and 6854, although most of that detail will be covered by the PLC email-handling instruction.

Details

Port 25

The following contains generalizations, but the basic thrust should be reasonably accurate.